Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor dho
Active Contributor
dho
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-26-2003
Message 1 of 18 (675 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor can not do it, can you?

675 Views, 17 Replies
03-13-2014 09:36 AM

i like to place a fillet radius of .125 at the bottom of the triangular cut to simulate a ball end mill. Mr. Inventor2014 says it is too complicated to do.

how to get around? thanks.

first, i shall thank everyone who tried to help me.
got hints from all the iptS, i moved extrusion8 after triangular extrusion9 (cut). inventor processed without an issue.
also i got response from INV sales/support (43-1065-01-support.ipt). here is his approach. but seems it did not represent truly the lower left ball end mill cut per 2D drawing.
"because you created the profile first in the pocket Extrusion with 0.125 R corners. When INV tried to blend these corners it was mathematically unable (remember 0.125 may not exactly equal 0.125 - 0.125000001 <> 0.12499999. The larger radius worked because it would skip over the corners where it was unable. the correct approach is to create the pocket with sharp corners and then fillet edges including the verticals. See attached."
the actual part does seem missing the ball end mill "turning" at the lower left corner which most models here omitted.
here is my try (43-1065-01-B.ipt), no deviation taken from 2D drawing even it had "logical" error which caused all the "fuss".
thanks again to all.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,221
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 18 (660 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 09:48 AM in reply to: dho

I can do it (in Inventor) but first thing I noticed is that none of your sketches are constrained.

I didn't bother to go any further.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,440
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 18 (659 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 09:48 AM in reply to: dho
Which Feature, give extrusion number of attach an image with where you want the fillet(s)
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,440
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 18 (653 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 09:52 AM in reply to: JDMather
I didn't even get that far. How can you properly build a model without any constraints on the sketches. I hope this person didn't pay for their training.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 5 of 18 (649 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 09:53 AM in reply to: blair

clearly a PICNIC problem :smileywink:

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,000
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 6 of 18 (637 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 10:00 AM in reply to: dho

Hi dho,

 

You're getting some rough feedback based on how you presented your question. But you're also getting some good advice in that you should always create sketches to be fully constrained. Often if we do not properly constrain and dimension a sketch, non-tangent points in the sketch will cause placed feature, such as fillets, to fail.

 

I would encourage you to spend some time tidying up your model and if you still think you've found a limitation, resubmit it, and I'm sure someone will offer some help.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,221
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 18 (636 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 10:00 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Fillet.PNG  I think I would model significantly differently.

 

 

Does this part already exist in physical form?

If so, do you have a picture of actual part?

I don't think I would model the part like this in SolidWorks or in Inventor.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
mbenoy
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎12-05-2006
Message 8 of 18 (556 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 12:43 PM in reply to: dho

Like this?

 

43-1065-01.png

Michael Benoy
Designer
Scott Safety

Inventor 2013 Pro, Windows 7, 64bit
Intel® Xeon® Processor W3580 (8M Cache, 3.33 GHz)
12 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
Active Contributor dho
Active Contributor
dho
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-26-2003
Message 9 of 18 (549 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 12:50 PM in reply to: JDMather

added all the dimensions i could. INV accepts >.155r fillet skipping at the corners.

thanks.

Active Contributor dho
Active Contributor
dho
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-26-2003
Message 10 of 18 (543 Views)

Re: Inventor can not do it, can you?

03-13-2014 12:53 PM in reply to: mbenoy

if you can share with me your ipt.

thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.