Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor Assemble Command

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
garin
738 Views, 8 Replies

Inventor Assemble Command

I am a Product Manager for Inventor and have a quick question for those of you that use the Assemble command in Inventor. As many of you know, we added the Assemble command in Inventor 2010 to make it easier to position components and add constraints to them.

• Have you used it?
  • Do you use the Assemble command as your main tool to assemble components over the Constraint command?
  • What do you like about it?
  • What do you dislike about it?
  • How often do you use it over the Constraint command?

Thanks for any feedback!!

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
karthur1
in reply to: garin

Garin,

Have tried it and it seemed to work ok.  A few quirks about it that I didnt like, so I just stuck with the constraint command.

1. When you would bring in a new part and try to assemble it to a part that is already fully constrianed, you have to pick the unconstrained part first, otherwise you get a error message and parts tend to fly around.

2. I use the insert constraint when I can (80% of the time) over mate. When I couldnt get the insert constrain in the flyout, I would have to cancel the command and then use constraint.  Got to be too much of a hassle, so I just stuck with the constraint command.

Pretty useless for me.  The constraint command works just fine.

Kirk

Message 3 of 9
PACDrafting

It's useless.

When you have an adaptive part and try to constrain say each end of a beam it doesn't work as it should. Using the standard constraint tool works fine in this regard.
Message 4 of 9
ampster401

I would not outright say it's useless...

tried it in the past month or so when someone else asked me what it was about.