Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
tlford37
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 31 of 62 (1,277 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-30-2011 03:13 PM in reply to: Hell-If-I-Know

Yea...They asked for AutoCAD dwgs after the fact. But again had we known that they wanted AutoCAD dwgs we would have just done everything in AutoCAD. (Then why do we have Inventor at all???) Most clients ask for Autocad and if we are just going to use AutoCAD from the get go then why do we even have Inventor. The whole idea is to save time and money. You can produce a drawing in Inventor much easier than in AutoCAD, and changes are very streamlined saving tons of time than if we had to do everything in 2D AutoCAD. So again what's the point of having Inventor.

 

This is what Autodesk claims and sells when selling Inventor. I know because I have sold Inventor to thousands of companies.

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 32 of 62 (1,228 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 06:33 AM in reply to: tlford37

OK, now I have to get into this fray.... tried to avoid it, but...

 

You say you need AutoCAD deliverables... OK Have you done this?

 

1. In AutoCAD, created a new template complete with all dimension, text styles, etc. Include all layers needed by the end client?

2. Use this AutoCAD template when converting the IDW or Inventor DWG to a standard AutoCAD DWG.

3. Create a Style that Maps the layers properly

  • Select Options when doing a Save Copy As "AutoCAD Drawing"
  • Save the Configuration

000157.JPG

I have many customers who use this process daily to provide clean AutoCAD drawings to Ford and other specifications. I'm just not understanding what the problem is here, so please enlighten me with more details.

 

I believe that once once the configuration is properly saved, you can use task manager to convert all IDW files in a folder at once.

 

Question, does Solidworks now produce an associative AutoCAD DWG from a Solidworks 2D drawing? Last time I checked, they were non-associative just like Inventor.

 

Selling and supporting software are two distinctly different things.

 


 


 

This is what Autodesk claims and sells when selling Inventor. I know because I have sold Inventor to thousands of companies.


 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Valued Contributor
Hell-If-I-Know
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 33 of 62 (1,195 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 08:09 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Thanks Dennis,

 

I attempted to duplicate what tlford had stated and I wasn't able to see any text change places as far as above or below the dimensions. I created a new file in Inventor and created an Inventor.idw, then did a save copy as to Acad.dwg. Again, everything came over nice and clean. The only issue was if I changed the model, those changes were not reflected in the converted Acad drawing, which I think is the way it is because the model resides in Inventor.

I don't know of any way of correcting this disconnect and I think that's part of tlford's problems other than the dimension issues he's seeing.

 

tlford, can you possibly give more detail on your process and settings?

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,113
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 34 of 62 (1,175 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 10:15 AM in reply to: Hell-If-I-Know

try this...  on an inventor idw, write some text.  save as autocad dwg.  print both from autocad and inventor to same scale.  turn on a light box and put the drawings over the top of one another...

 

then tell me they are the same

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Valued Contributor
Hell-If-I-Know
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 35 of 62 (1,128 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 02:13 PM in reply to: stephengibson76

????

 

OK, you lost me there.

 

As long as you have your Acad settings done right, the Inventor.idw will convert to an Acad.dwg without issues. It'll look and smell just like an Acad drawing. You can now edit it all you want in Acad.

 

Or you could go a different route and remove all the annotation prior to the conversion and then add it all while in Acad. Either way, you'll get the same results.

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 36 of 62 (1,102 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 04:52 PM in reply to: stephengibson76

The point I wanted to make are that Inventor WILL produce a good AutoCAD DWG that is not associative, just as SW can produce a non-associative DWG.

 

It's all in how you set up your templates and save options. There's no instant "Easy" button listed anywhere in the Autodesk or Solidworks, NX, Pro softwares. Again, lack of experience and study jumps up to bite the users that do not take the time for setup. Autodesk gets the blame again because Inventor is not AutoCAD, THANK GOODNESS!

 

Funny, no one jumped up to answer my question about SW delivering associated DWG files.

 

'Nuff said.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Distinguished Contributor
nmunro
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎10-20-2001
Message 37 of 62 (1,090 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 08:26 PM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

There is new functionality in AutoCAD 2012 that lets you create basic associative drawing views from an Inventor part or assembly in a layout. The lack of any view type other than projected views (from the base view) makes it very limited for real work. Since there is no corresponding MS object in the drawing you can't use other AutoCAD techniquies to generate other views. The old half-baked rule seems to still be in voque. Would seem to be the holy grail for some.

 

Distinguished Contributor
acad-caveman
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 38 of 62 (1,084 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

03-31-2011 09:31 PM in reply to: tlford37

Ok. Since I have a small horse in this race ( the ability to create a true 2D drawing of a model just as if it was created in AutoCAD ), lemme jump in here for a minute.

From what I gather, the OP wants to be able to take his drawings created by Inventor and with a simple click of a button save them as a true AutoCAD DWG.

The reason he wants this is to be able to send the DWG to his customer, who is using Autocad.

 

Now, I would guess that he needs no associative DWG-s. ( Customer is on ACAD and off site, no Inventor )

What he wants is not to spend a single minute touching up anything on a 2D drawing that he already has spent considerable amount of time detailing.

What he also wants is a DWG that is fully usable and editable by his customer to suit his/her needs.

He also states that the plot from AutoCAD is different than a plot from Inventor ( IDW or DWG )

 

Assuming that my assumptions are correct, here is my take.

I do not know if there is any change in how AutoCAD uses and displays dimensions, text or whatnot.

I do know that saving an Inventor drawing as an inventor DWG is useless and garbage for a purely AutoCAD user who wants to edit it. It is in paper space and that is where it stays.

I know that a 2D drawing created by Inventor ( Inventor DWG or save-as AutoCAD DWG ) is NOT! at all how'd you draw something in a pure AutoCAD environment.( outlines are broken up by every miserable feature, true arcs as splines etc )

 

Flame me all you want, one would expect a whole lot better from Autodesk to have Inventor and AutoCAD work together.

 

 

There, I've said it.

 

For the record, Solidworks also creates individual entities broken by feature intersections, but at least it creates a true arc when the feature is in fact an arc.  ( Insert dead horse icon here ...)

 

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 905
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 39 of 62 (1,060 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

04-01-2011 04:34 AM in reply to: acad-caveman

I recall reading about this arc / spline thing before.  Nor can I recall seeing a straight-up comparision of an identical native model in both SW and IV with exported Acad drawings where SW = arc and IV = spline.  I don't have SW so I can't try.  I also have no idea what specific feature / point of view is needed to generate said splarc.

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
Distinguished Contributor
acad-caveman
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 40 of 62 (992 Views)

Re: Inventor and Solidworks

04-01-2011 03:06 PM in reply to: tlford37

Here is a link to the latest topic about the arc-spline issue:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/This-is-retarded-Why-is-this-a-spline-in-IDW/m-p/289...

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.