Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
AnchorChain
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 1 of 9 (229 Views)

Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

229 Views, 8 Replies
01-22-2014 07:50 AM

I am having an issue with my Inventor 2014 failing, going non-responsive, while idle.  I have the program open on my desktop only.  There are no files open at all.  All of the sudden my Inventor screen will go black leaving the Inventor window bar at the top of the screen with my "I" in the top left but nothing else. At first I can still access other programs I have open such as AutoCAD or Outlook but I soon loose those because my computer locks up.  I am running windows 8 and noticed that I could still get to my Start screen so I did and then that froze too.

 

My computer is brand new with Windows 8 Pro, 64 bit, 16GB ram, 2GB NVIDIA video card running Inventor 2014 Ultimate package.

 

The only possible issue is my video card is not certified by Autodesk for use with Inventor.  I have not seen any issues or tileing with my graphics with using inventor at all.  Could this be the culprit?  I have a certified video card that I can install but it's only a 1GB card versus my current 2GB.

Thanks,

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor 2014 Ultimate
Windows 8 Pro
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (204 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-22-2014 08:51 AM in reply to: AnchorChain
Make sure you have installed all the SP's and Hotfixes for your product. There is a link at the bottom of the screen to take you to the product support page. Don't rely on the update within Inventor to keep your product up to date.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
AnchorChain
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 3 of 9 (170 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-23-2014 06:52 AM in reply to: AnchorChain

All up to date now.  Just loaded update 2 for SP1.  Hopefully this does it.  Otherwise, we're going to swap out graphics cards next.

Thanks,

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor 2014 Ultimate
Windows 8 Pro
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,915
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 9 (164 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-23-2014 08:03 AM in reply to: AnchorChain

usually a good idea to update your graphics card drivers too.. Even with "new" computers the graphics card driver could be old. 

I always recommend installing the lastest driver from the manufacturers website and to forget about the Inventor certified list..

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (157 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-23-2014 08:44 AM in reply to: AnchorChain
When Autodesk switch Inventor from OpenGL to DirectX, the need for ADSK certified drivers when away to the point that ADSK no longer tests and certifies all drivers and cards for Inventor. All that is required now is Microsoft Certified drivers. So as long as you stick with the Microsoft certified drivers you will be fine.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
AnchorChain
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 6 of 9 (140 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-23-2014 12:09 PM in reply to: blair

Ok. I've downloaded the latest driver for my video card, NVIDIA GeForce GT 630.  Going to give this a try and see what happens.

Thanks,

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor 2014 Ultimate
Windows 8 Pro
Distinguished Contributor
m.teleguz1
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Message 7 of 9 (132 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-23-2014 01:23 PM in reply to: AnchorChain
Try Setting Affinity on the software to a higher setting and see what happens.

PowerShell can do this task for you Get Affinity: PowerShell "Get-Process app | Select-Object ProcessorAffinity" Set Affinity: PowerShell "$Process = Get-Process app; $Process.ProcessorAffinity=255" Example: (8 Core Processor) Core A = 1 = 00000001 Core B = 2 = 00000010 Core C = 4 = 00000100 Core D = 6 = 00001000 Core E = 8 = 00010000 Core F = 16 = 00100000 Core G = 32 = 01000000 Core H = 64 = 10000000 Just add the decimal values together for which core you want to use. 255 = All 8 cores. Example Output: C:\>PowerShell "Get-Process notepad++ | Select-Object ProcessorAffinity" ProcessorAffinity ----------------- 255 C:\>PowerShell "$Process = Get-Process notepad++; $Process.ProcessorAffinity=13" C:\>PowerShell "Get-Process notepad++ | Select-Object ProcessorAffinity" ProcessorAffinity ----------------- 13 C:\>PowerShell "$Process = Get-Process notepad++; $Process.ProcessorAffinity=255" C:\> Source: Here is a nicely detailed post on how to change a process's affinity: http://www.energizedtech.com/2010/07/powershell-setting-processor-a.html

 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
..........................................................................................................................
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
..........................................................................................................................
Privacy warning: Since I live in a country that has traded liberty for the illusion of security, all of your posts to me are being monitored and saved by the United States Government.


See My LinkedIn Profile
Active Contributor
AnchorChain
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 8 of 9 (107 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-24-2014 05:31 AM in reply to: m.teleguz1

Yeah, this is a company computer so there will be no tampering with the program code as it seems you are suggesting.  Thanks for the suggestion though, I guess.

Thanks,

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor 2014 Ultimate
Windows 8 Pro
Distinguished Contributor
m.teleguz1
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Message 9 of 9 (99 Views)

Re: Inventor 2014 Failing while Idle

01-24-2014 06:29 AM in reply to: AnchorChain

Well if you dont want to Go crazy and do the permenant modification.

 

Do a temp. one. 

 

Go to: 

 

1. Press: Ctrl Shift Esc

2. Right Click on Inventor.

3. Go to Process

4. Right click on process that is highlighted.

5. Set Affinity

6. Make sure all your cores are selected.

7. Right click again

8. Set Priority

9. Set it to above normal or high. (dont do realtime) 

 

Good Luck!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
..........................................................................................................................
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
..........................................................................................................................
Privacy warning: Since I live in a country that has traded liberty for the illusion of security, all of your posts to me are being monitored and saved by the United States Government.


See My LinkedIn Profile
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.