Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
jovdamo86
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Message 81 of 111 (1,381 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-08-2012 09:07 PM in reply to: FProcp

I would like to suggest the following.

1. 2D Sketch shown that you can select the lines>>right click>>constrain>>[select constrain]

2. 3D model shown that you can offset from the base line to a certain distance.

 

New Member
talleman21
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2012
Message 82 of 111 (1,289 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-10-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: FProcp

I have been using Inventor to automate models and assemblies for quite a while, but I find it very difficult to automate drawings.  Below is my wish list that could help address this.

 

1.  Have the option of useing the parameters table within the drawing environment.  Just like the parameters table in the part and assembly files, be able to link to excel or other ipt or iam files.  When creating a dimension in a sketch in a drawing, I would like to see the option of "list parameters".

 

2. Have groups of dimensions (layers) in drawings that can be suppressed according to parameters.  If I have a feature in 1 part that is not in a very similar part, it can suppress the dimensions instead of turning them pink.  I imagine this could be similar to the feature properties in an ipt.

 

3. iLogic- better integration of multi-bodied parts.  Getting the volume and surface area of a certain body is not impossible, but it is very difficult.

 

4. Better documentation on iLogic.  It is a powerfull tool, but it is difficult to find support materials for more advanced problems.  I don't even know where I can find a list of possible commands.

 

5. Tsplines in Inventor.  The Product Design suite has 3ds Max and Inventor... Tsplines would be a great addition.

 

6. Better surfacing tools.  The more functionality that is added for surfacing, the easier my job becomes.  Being able to seamlessly switch between solid and surface is great, but a lot of work is repeated because surface modelling does not have the same functionality as solid modelling.  Why can't I extrude a hole in a surface?

 

If you need any clarification on any of these points, feel free to contact me.  alleman (at) thunderheaddesign.net

 

Thanks,

Thomas

Member
wgladden
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2006
Message 83 of 111 (1,165 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-15-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: FProcp

I wish that Inventor 2013+ was truly x64 application and Multi-Core supported.

 

 

IT Administrator For: 

Inventor 2012 Ultimate, Premium, Standard and Mechanical 2012

Contributor
MrScary-QSI
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-12-2009
Message 84 of 111 (1,142 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-15-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: FProcp

May seem small but it would be nice to have sub folders in the templates folder.  When I do this now, it does not show the sub-folders in templates (even with Inventor files in them).....

 

JSC

*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,318
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 85 of 111 (1,119 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-15-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: talleman21

For 1. just hit the little pencil icon in the edit dimension dialog, that takes you to the format text dialog where you can use the parameters. (I use it mainly for bolt circle diameters, except in the hole note you have to exit the edit hole note dialog and right click to select "Text ...")

 

For 2. I don't understand why you would want to just suppress a dimension to something that does not exist.

 

 

My personal wish is that things would work the same across environments. For instance a feature pattern created in an assembly or sub assembly can't be used when patterning parts; using a parameter in a dimension is fine in a part but always results in a "cyclical dependency" in an assembly, and just plain pukes a sketch in a drawing (say, for a title block etc. or otherwise); etc..

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 905
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 86 of 111 (1,097 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-15-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: FProcp

I'm still on 2010, so maybe they fixed this bug in 2011, 2012, or 2013?  If not; here's hoping for 2014!

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,075
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 87 of 111 (1,098 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-15-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: kstate92

This should be changed to 2014 wish list as 2013 is already set in stone and has been for months. Heck it should be available in just a few weeks..

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Member
nicolaslegare
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 88 of 111 (972 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-20-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: FProcp

I would like to have a new Inventor assembly constraint of symmetry. This constraint would work with the origins of selected parts or assemblies (2 entities) and a middle plane selected for the symmetry.

 


*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,507
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 89 of 111 (947 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-20-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: nicolaslegare

"I would like to have a new Inventor assembly constraint of symmetry. This constraint would work with the origins of selected parts or assemblies (2 entities) and a middle plane selected for the symmetry."

 

This was one of my big gripes switching from SW to IV. If you ever mate in SW you'll be mad at AutoDesk for falling so far behind in mate functionality.


Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Mentor
Lesoux
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 90 of 111 (866 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Wish List?

03-21-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: FProcp

Creating rectangle from center point.

Win7 x64
Xeon X5647
24 Gb RAM
Quadro FX 6000

Inventor 2013
ETO 6.1, Build 140.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.