Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 61 of 95 (453 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: telambert

It isnt really a big deal if you backup your settings. Which i recomend

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Valued Contributor
QuasiMojo
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 62 of 95 (448 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

It's not a big deal, it's annoying.  It feels like computing in 1998, when you had save your files every five minutes and backup your settings before the next crash.

Oh, and SP1 didn't mess up my application options.

Inventor Professional 2014
Windows 7, x64
Dual-core i7, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
HP Elitebook 8540w
Contributor
julesgf
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 63 of 95 (388 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 03:49 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

All good here

Substantially quicker when updating a very complex assembly.

As far as I'm concerned that is evidence of AD working on core functionality

JF

Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 64 of 95 (382 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: julesgf

I still can't type an extrude value in the heads up display - I have to go to the extrude dialog box to make that work.  Even though the Extrude Command DEFAULTS to the Heads Up Display.  Hmmm...How many releases have been like this?

 

ALL OF THEM.

 

Not working on core functionality.

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time
Contributor
julesgf
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 65 of 95 (378 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 04:27 PM in reply to: DesignerNinja

Haven't seen that problem on any of the machines here.

There was a problem whereby you couldn't enter a user parameter into a feature (HUD or otherwise) while doing a part edit-in-place (you had to open the part explicitly)

Just checked and coincidentally they have just fixed that with SP1

 

Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 66 of 95 (377 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 04:42 PM in reply to: julesgf

Yeah, it makes me feel like I'm losing it because I keep thinking - "Surely they wouldn't have let something like this through - it has to be me".

 

But actually I've recently spoken with an AutoDesk insider and all the problems I asked them about, they embarrassingly admitted to and said that AutoDesk knows about some / most of these issues, but they aren't a priority to get fixed.

 

Where I work at, if something doesn't work - you fix it.  Or they'll get someone that will.

 

Cheers.

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time
Contributor
julesgf
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 67 of 95 (366 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 04:58 PM in reply to: DesignerNinja

It's obviously a trade off between slow evolving but stable software and fast evoloution and more issues.

From where I'm sitting IV is on the money

Valued Contributor
QuasiMojo
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 68 of 95 (361 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-16-2012 05:17 PM in reply to: DesignerNinja

I don't think they really use their own software.  The make software, not hardware.  That's why they spend time making a fancy but useless floating mini-toolbar that you can't turn off. It looks nice in the documentation but sucks to use. 

If you look at the presentations their execs gave for the shareholders, you'll see that they're trying to sell subscriptions to the software suites, even though ~65% of the users only use one program.  They seem to be trying to get into the multimedia market and so the parametric design stuff is second-fiddle to the CGI stuff.  At least that's my interpretation.

 

Inventor has some terrific features and some monumentally annoying ones.  I don't see the trend going in the right direction, unfortunately.  I'd love to be wrong.

Inventor Professional 2014
Windows 7, x64
Dual-core i7, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
HP Elitebook 8540w
Active Member
travispeck1983
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 69 of 95 (291 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 06:43 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

I just installed SP1.1 on a users machine and it crashed twice in 2 minutes.  2013 Inventor is so unstable.  Is it also supose to install SP1 also?  I am at a loss for words with these crashes and the Material Issues.  Nothing I try works anymore.  My users are getting very frustrated. 

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 70 of 95 (279 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: travispeck1983

Post machine specs you are having problems with.

John Retzlaff
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.