Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 11 of 22 (1,308 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

05-31-2012 06:21 PM in reply to: mrattray

Hi Matt,

 

I couldn't able to reproduce the problem. See below screenshot. Since you are using a custom template, can you share that with us for further testing.



forum.png

 

Also please check with different options for graphics under Application options -> Hardware tab to see whether you can reproduce the same behavior.

 

Let me know your test results.



Vinod Balasubramanian
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 12 of 22 (1,298 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-01-2012 04:58 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

I played around with the options in the hardware tab and still was reproducing the problem with every combination of options.

 

In the file set that I posted earlier in this thread the glitch only presents in the right view, the top view dimensioned OK.

 

Find the problem template and my application options export attached.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 13 of 22 (1,279 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-03-2012 08:25 PM in reply to: mrattray

Hi Matt,

 

I tried with your template and the same application options settings. I couldn't able to reproduce the behavior on my end. It looks more of a graphic issue at the moment.

 

Have you tried switching your graphics options in the hardware tab under application options. Can you able to reproduce the same problem ?



Vinod Balasubramanian
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 14 of 22 (1,270 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-04-2012 04:53 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

mrattray wrote:
I played around with the options in the hardware tab and still was reproducing the problem with every combination of options.

 

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 15 of 22 (1,251 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-04-2012 07:52 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

Can you confirm whether you have installed a certified graphic card driver for Inventor. If not you can download them from the link below,

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18844534&siteID=123112



Vinod Balasubramanian
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 16 of 22 (1,243 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-05-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

I don't have control over our hardware here and the IT dept. thinks that workstation grade hardware is unnecessary. I'm stuck with a gaming card, AMD Radeon HD 6670, with no available certified drivers.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 17 of 22 (1,221 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-06-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: mrattray

Guys,

 

I think I have found an explanation for what you are seeing.

This is actually as designed and is the result of the text clipping around hatches and dimensions that we implemented in 2013. See the wiki help:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/0000-What_s_N0/0001-What_s_N1/0058-Drawing58/006...

 

The easiest way to explain why this happens is to look at this screenshot.
Dimensions sitting within the area designated by the green dots, will be clipped.

To avoid the issue , use smaller textboxes  or create the larger (empty) textboxes inside a draft view.

 

clipping dimensions.jpg

 

Cheers

Bob

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 18 of 22 (1,217 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

06-06-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: bobvdd

I think you got it, Bob! Thanks! I'd mark it as solution but, I'm not the OP.

 

Note to self: avoid unneccessarilay massive text boxes.

 

Thanks again, Bob!

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

New Member
billmace6
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 19 of 22 (737 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

04-30-2013 01:27 PM in reply to: bobvdd

Bob, your post made my day. I was in a rush to get some drawings out for quotes and kept having the disappearing leader/dimension problem. When I moved an adjacent text box, after reading your post, the issue resolved. So the cause is overlapping text boxes and is easy to fix.

Regards, Bill

Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 20 of 22 (728 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - missing dimensions in drawing

04-30-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: billmace6

Thanks Bill for confirming the solution!

Always good to get positive reaction to a post that was made almost a year ago.

Just an extra proof of the benefit of this newsgroup.

Bob

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.