Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 1 of 33 (810 Views)

Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

810 Views, 32 Replies
09-01-2012 02:34 PM

Every time I try to mesh a part, no matter the geometry, I get a very general mesh failed error.  I have followed the procedures listed in the following thread: 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Error-1-Solid-meshing-no-further-information-availab...

But have had no success.  I have included a screen shot of the failure with a very simple test extrusion.Mesh_Failed.JPG

Has anyone else had this error?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,663
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 33 (798 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-01-2012 04:24 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Attach the ipt file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 3 of 33 (748 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-03-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: JDMather

I have attached the part file, but this part is just a simplified test part.  I have tried this part file on a different computer and it has meshed successfully. 

Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 4 of 33 (729 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 02:35 AM in reply to: rschwartz

I  have exact the same problem.

 

now I have a 64 bit workstation windows 7 (HP Z600)

Did the same on my old computer  64 bit workstation windows 7 (HP Z200) and I had no problems.

Please help!

Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 33 (707 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: rschwartz

Hi rschwartz and DWEN,

  I see you've already tried the NTFS file name workaround in the other thread with NtfsDisable8dot3NameCreation = 0

  A similar issue was reported where a different program (that also uses the same 3rd party volume mesher as Inventor) conflicted with Inventor being able to mesh.

  Could you view your system environment variables to see if you have "GHS3D_SOC016" set / existing ?

 You can access the environment variables list list via: Windows Start menu => type environment variables => Edit the System Environment variables => System properties dialog => Advanced tab => Environment Variables... => System variables

Thanks! -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 6 of 33 (695 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: henderh

I'm realy sorry,

 

The windows start menu is at bottom left, if I type environment variables, oneley some files show up that have noting to do with it.

 

Do I have to look at an other place?

 

 

You can access the environment variables list list via: Windows Start menu => type environment variables ??????????=> Edit the System Environment variables => System properties dialog => Advanced tab => Environment Variables... => System variables

 

Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 7 of 33 (692 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: henderh

Hugh,

I followed your directions and successfully found that I do not have the "GHS3D_SOC016" variable set or existing.

Thanks,

Robert

Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 8 of 33 (688 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: rschwartz

I found something that looks like the systeem veriables. Look in the file I send.

There is no such GHS3D_SOC016.

 

Do I looked at the right place?

Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 9 of 33 (674 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 12:53 PM in reply to: DWEN

Hi DWEN,

  Yes, you are looking in the correct place (the System environment variables list).

  Would it be possible to export the list of your environment variables? There may be another conflict that Development can spot if we share the list with them.

  In the Windows Start menu => type "CMD" to invoke to the command prompt window.  Then type in the following to generate a list of the set environment variables (without the quotes ""):

 “set >c:\temp\envars.txt”

  Look in the C:\Temp directory for the text file and post it up here or you can email it to me directly at hughDOThendersonATautodeskDOTcom

  We apologize for the inconvenience this is causing.

Best regards, -Hugh

[Edit: wordsmithed]



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 10 of 33 (670 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: henderh

ADSK_MAXDES_x64_2013=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max Design 2013\
ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData
APPDATA=C:\Users\Dirk\AppData\Roaming
CM2013DIR=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Materials\
CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
CommonProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files
CommonProgramW6432=C:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=DWEN-HP
ComSpec=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
EMC_AUTOPLAY=c:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\
FPPUILang=en-US
FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
HOMEDRIVE=C:
HOMEPATH=\Users\Dirk
ILBDIR=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Materials\
ILLDIR=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Materials\
ILMDIR=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Materials\
LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\Dirk\AppData\Local
LOGONSERVER=\\DWEN-HP
MpConfig_ProductAppDataPath=C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender
MpConfig_ProductCodeName=AntiSpyware
MpConfig_ProductPath=C:\Program Files\Windows Defender
MpConfig_ProductUserAppDataPath=C:\Users\Dirk\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Defender
MpConfig_ReportingGUID=47940DA9-17BF-4A26-81BC-89F4FEF8E757
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=6
OMP_NUM_THREADS=6
OnlineServices=Online Services
OOBEUILang=nl-NL
OS=Windows_NT
Path=C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Alias2013\bin;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;c:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\DLLShared\;c:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\10.0\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Panda Security\Panda Antivirus Pro 2012;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Backburner\
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
Platform=BWS
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=AMD64
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=Intel64 Family 6 Model 44 Stepping 2, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
PROCESSOR_REVISION=2c02
ProgramData=C:\ProgramData
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
ProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramW6432=C:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
PSModulePath=C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\
PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public
RoxioCentral=c:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\10.0\Roxio Central36\
SESSIONNAME=Console
SystemDrive=C:
SystemRoot=C:\Windows
TEMP=C:\Users\Dirk\AppData\Local\Temp
TMP=C:\Users\Dirk\AppData\Local\Temp
UGII_3DCONNEXION_LIBRARY=%UGII_BASE_DIR%\ugalliance\vendor\startup\3DxNX.dll
USERDOMAIN=DWEN-HP
USERNAME=Dirk
USERPROFILE=C:\Users\Dirk
windir=C:\Windows
windows_tracing_flags=3
windows_tracing_logfile=C:\BVTBin\Tests\installpackage\csilogfile.log

 

I hope this is ok for you?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.