Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 21 of 33 (340 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: DWEN

Hi Dirk,

 

  Can you try these for us?

1)  Ensure that the FEAComputeserver.exe file exists (e.g. C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2013\Bin\FEAComputeServer.exe)

 

2)  Open an assembly with at least two components, and run the Automatic Contacts command (this will take meshing out of the picture) => do you get the FEAComputeServer error?

 

3)  Ensure that you used the registry key I attached.  Because, if there is a space like the command I pasted in it may not work.  Check to see if log file gets created in C:\Temp.  It is really surpising that the log file is not there if the registry key is set correctly.

 

  Also, it would be great if you can send me an email (hughDOThendersonATautodeskDOTcom) so we can set up a screen sharing session.  We tried calling you in Holland, but only rings and no pickup.  

 

Thanks! -Hugh (& John Z. from Development)



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 22 of 33 (333 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 01:20 PM in reply to: henderh

Did you get my mail?

 

I am sorry , maybe I have to stop working. My wife is complayning.

(Here it is 22u19 and I worked the hole day) I will try to answer youre mails.

Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 23 of 33 (329 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: henderh

Hugh,

 

I have added the registry keys you posted earlier, and I have attached the generated log file. I have also tried completely uninstalling and then re-installing inventor on the administrator account (it was installed originally with an account that has administrator priviledges, but I changed accounts just to be sure). The reinstall did not solve the issue.

 

Thank you for your assitance thus far.

 

Rob

Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 24 of 33 (324 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 04:22 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Hi Rob,

 

  I could be missing something, but don't see your FEAComputeSever.log file attachment from C:\Temp.  I've attached an example to this reply.

 

  DWEN (in Belgium, not Holland) was able to get a successful mesh after uninstall / re-install and disabling anti-virus and firewall(s).  Can you give that a whirl too?

 

Thanks! -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 25 of 33 (322 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 04:23 PM in reply to: henderh

Hi Hugh,

 

Sorry! I think I just forgot to attach it. It should be there now.

 

Rob

Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 26 of 33 (319 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 04:28 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Hi Rob,

 

  Got it.  We've looked it over and it seems that the meshed failed for 'body 3'.  This leads us to believe there is an issue in our volume mesher for this particular model.  Would it be possible to send us a copy of the model?

 

  Can you confirm that the meshing / solving can work for a very simple model like a cuboid?

 

Thanks! -Hugh

 

 



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 27 of 33 (309 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 11:41 PM in reply to: henderh

De-install inventor and install it agen without firewall and virusscanner worked for me. FEM is working agen

Contributor
DWEN
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 28 of 33 (294 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-06-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: henderh

Today bad news.

Started my computer agen, checked my mails (outlook) and then same problem agen. (no mesh)

Started my computer without outlook start,  started inventor. Problem is still there.

 

Please help.

Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 29 of 33 (282 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-06-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: DWEN

Hi DWEN,

 

  If you disable the firewall and anti-virus, then launch Inventor does the meshing work once again?

 

  We suspect that either the installed anti-virus or firewall is blocking FEAComputeServer.exe from working.

 

   We suggest trying to make an exception for this *.exe in those programs to allow it to run without restraint.

 

  Please let us know if this works or not.

 

Thanks! -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Active Member
rschwartz
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 30 of 33 (271 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-06-2012 02:33 PM in reply to: henderh

Hugh,

 

The model I am using is posted earlier in the thread (my second post). I unfortuntately did not keep the file as it was just a test part. I have attached a part that is a recreation of it to this post.

 

As well, this error occurs on any geometry I create, including a simple cylinder or cube. Fortunately, our other Inventor 2013 machine is able to mesh, etc. with no problems, so the problem seems contained to either the machine/hardware or the inventor installation (although we have tried reinstalling multiple times now). As well, we have tried reinstalling and running with anything remotely antivirus/firewall related turned off, but to no effect.

 

Thanks for your help so far,

 

Rob

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.