Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor 2013 crashes when using multiple functions

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
roboconnell2004
834 Views, 11 Replies

Inventor 2013 crashes when using multiple functions

I have been using this software for a few months now, and I continue to have crashing issues. The issues, however related, are not consistent. I tend to have issues when using more complex applications of the software such as crashes when performing a breakout view, freezing and then many times crashing when manipulating a part within an assembly drawing, and several other similar issues. I have received an update SP1.1 (176) and installed it. This update states it contains a fix for issues of crashing due to excessive memory consumption.This seems to be my issue, however I have 6GB of RAM, nVidia Quadro FX 3800 1GB graphics card, Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz processor, and updated drivers... 

I am looking for suggestions from someone who has had similar issues and was able to fix them, or from someone with the knowledge to assist in suggesting possible fixes. (I also have the company IT Guy looking into the issue, but he is unfamiliar with Autodesk and many of the issues related with Autodesk)

Thanks in advance!!!

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
mrattray
in reply to: roboconnell2004

Those PC specs aren't very good for Inventor. What kind of work are you doing?

I struggle with memory consumption sometimes with 8GB, and I don't think my files are large at all. Also, your i7 is a complete waste for CAD work. Besides a couple of exceptions, most notably drawing views, Inventor only uses one core. That means as far as Inventor is concerned you have one 0.443 GHZ (2.66 GHZ divided by 6 cores) processor.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Message 3 of 12
roboconnell2004
in reply to: mrattray