Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

inventor 2012 Unfold sheet metal

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
nmetzger
3718 Views, 7 Replies

inventor 2012 Unfold sheet metal

I have never used the unfold command before. It seemed simple enough, draw the part, extrude, turn into sheet metal, set defaults and unfold to make a flat pattern. What am I doing wrong? It will not let me unfold. The dialog box comes up, but will not allow me to pick a flat surface or bends....

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JDMather
in reply to: nmetzger

First thing you are doing wrong is using Extrude rather than one of the sheet metal tools.

Extrude is probably fine as long as you follow sheet metal rules (constant thickness, bends and rips).

Second possible mistake is you haven't set your sheet metal style to the same thickness as your extrusion, but you say you have set the defaults - so maybe we can rule that one out.

I'm betting constant thickness or missing bends.

Actually Unfold is not how you create a Flat Pattern.

Unfold/Refold is used to add features that are difficult to do in a folded state.

Create Flat Pattern is for, well, creating flat patterns.

Attach the file here and erase all doubt.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
nmetzger
in reply to: JDMather

I drew this part in Inventor 2012 and extruded. Set material default to mild steel. Default K factor. Material thickness is .1875, but I believe it defaulted to .2 - not sure why it would not let me change that.

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Message 4 of 8
JDMather

@nmetzger wrote: