Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
chrishutchinson6900
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 11 of 22 (741 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

08-29-2011 01:15 PM in reply to: dooyoul.chung

I finally got Inventor 2012 updated to SP1 by using the Autodesk Live Update instead of the msi download file.

 

Nothing suggested here helped to get the msi download to work.

 

I've no idea why the Live Update worked and the msi download wouldn't.

 

Thanks,

Chris Hutchinson

Duke Energy

Charlotte, NC

Employee
kevinautodesk2008
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 12 of 22 (716 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

08-29-2011 05:28 PM in reply to: chrishutchinson6900

The error should be a rare event on only XP32bit, and I never see it again once encounter it on a machine.I means I can install SP1 successfully after cancelling the first failed install.

Product Support
pierre.masson
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 13 of 22 (673 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

08-30-2011 05:32 AM in reply to: whunter

Hi Chrishutchinson.

 

Could you please indicate us which OS are you using ? 

 
Pierre Masson Product Support Specialist PS MFG EMEA Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
chrishutchinson6900
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 14 of 22 (661 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

08-30-2011 06:13 AM in reply to: pierre.masson

Pierre, I'm using Windows XP Pro 32 bit SP3 OS.

 

Thanks,

Chris Hutchinson

Distinguished Contributor
KF090
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Message 15 of 22 (638 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

08-30-2011 07:35 AM in reply to: chrishutchinson6900

Last night before I left work I tried to install via Live Update and apparently it went through without issue.

Distinguished Contributor
amasva
Posts: 290
Registered: ‎01-02-2007
Message 16 of 22 (484 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

10-06-2011 03:26 AM in reply to: KF090

Hi
You can also do this:
-Start Inventor 2012 Sp0
-Start installing Sp1 (while Inventor is running)
-Close inventor when the installation require it, and click resume.

Asle Martin Svastuen
Autodesk Product Design Suite Ulitmate 2012 Sp1 / Vault Collaboration 2012 Sp1
HP EliteBook 8560w
Intel(R)Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 720 @ 2,0GHz 2,0GHz
16GB RAM
Windows 7 X64 SP1
Active Member
christine.henglein-west
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2006
Message 17 of 22 (453 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

10-14-2011 09:56 AM in reply to: chrishutchinson6900

I had the same problem with the registry key error trying to install SP1 on a 32-bit XP SP3 computer.  Yes, I have admin rights.  Not sure why SP1 seems to have an incorrect path for the registry key it wants to edit. 

 

All of my 64-bit XP SP3 computers had no issues with their copy of SP1.

 

Having Inventor running while I installed SP1, and then closing Inventor when prompted, let me finally get the 32-bit SP1 installed.  Thanks!

Valued Mentor
JohanLarsson
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎06-14-2005
Message 18 of 22 (418 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

11-01-2011 04:26 AM in reply to: christine.henglein-west

I have the same problem with XP 32-bit, tried downloading the msi three times.

I tried installing with Inventor open and then the installation compeleted without thorowing any errors.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2012 SP1 (25 seats with subscription)
Windows 7 64 bit
Lenovo D20, 12 GB RAM, Intel Xeon X5687 3.6 GHz, SSD
Quadro 4000, driver 8.17.12.9573, dual monitors
SpacePilot, driver version 6.15.3 Firmware 3.12
Active Member
michalWDI
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Message 19 of 22 (344 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

12-12-2011 04:26 AM in reply to: chrishutchinson6900

Doesn't anybody noticed that the path from the error message is incorrect because contains double backslash?

 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Autodesk\\RegistryVersion16.0

 

The popup complains something you don't have sufficient access to the path. 

- yes, that's correct, because the specified path doesn't exist!

 

That's just Autodesk fault. On my Win XP SP3 32bit it works to start installing the SP1with runned Inventor and right after few seconds close the Inventor.

 

 

Employee
kevinautodesk2008
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 20 of 22 (330 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Installation Error

12-12-2011 08:17 PM in reply to: michalWDI
Hi michalWDI,
 
thanks for your report. we have noticed this issue and try to fix it in next build.
if you encounter this error, please try to do as following steps:
1. try to install SP1 again after encountering this error, Generally, it will not occur for the second time
2. if installation still be blocked by this error, launch Inventor, close it, try to install SP1
3. if step 2 still not works for you, keep Inventor running, install SP1 via liveupdate
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.