Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Breemum
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 1 of 9 (402 Views)

Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

402 Views, 8 Replies
09-23-2011 06:50 AM

Hey guys,

 

I apologize if this has already been answered somewhere I just have not been able to find it.

 

Ever since I installed SP1 I am unable to hide wiring harnesses from assemblies in ipn files that are placed in an IDW. I have diferent locked design view representations that are all on one print and no matter how many times I remake or associate the views the cables are always displayed in the idw. I cannot open old drawings and print them without deferring updates. Makes it very annoying. And what I noticed is that normally if you "Include all Surfaces" they show up in the tree and you can hide certain surfaces. However the cable surfaces are not in the tree, and I cannot hide them through feature priority. Ive tried to manually remove them but the idw keeps winning.

 

If I have to uninstall sp1 thats fine. Is there any instructions on how to uninstall? I just do not want to mess up my current setup because I finally had a really stable AIP2012

 

Thanks!

Active Contributor
Breemum
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 2 of 9 (378 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

09-26-2011 08:22 AM in reply to: Breemum

Any insight on this one guys?

Distinguished Contributor
cmcconnell
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 3 of 9 (361 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

09-26-2011 11:22 AM in reply to: Breemum

We are seeing the same thing with Surfaces in Master files - we are unable to turn of the visibility in drawings. We have several large assembly drawings that are showing this behavior. We have not been able to find a way around it....

Mechanix Design Solutions inc.
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 4 of 9 (345 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

09-26-2011 12:30 PM in reply to: Breemum

This is a known bug in 2012 SP1.  Autodesk already has it logged.  I made note of it on my blog, but other than that it hasn't appeared anywhere else other than this post.

Mark Flayler - Senior Application Engineer
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Active Contributor
Breemum
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 5 of 9 (339 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

09-26-2011 12:42 PM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Ok well I guess it is good to know that Autodesk knows about it. It is just something that I cannot even get a workaround for beyond deferring updates. So my new prints will have to hold off until its fixed I guess. I would uninstall SP1 but I fear something becoming corrupt. Id also have to go back to the 2012 select other operation and Im not having that :-)

 

Thanks for the replies guys, I suppose just post here if Autodek releases a hotfix for it. I would appreciate it.

Active Member
kevin.brown
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-01-2005
Message 6 of 9 (278 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

10-31-2011 05:39 AM in reply to: Breemum

any updates news on this problem? The only way I have to hide a harness in a drawing view is to manually turn off visibility of individual harness visible lines. This is time consumming and results in broken lines on features I want shown in the drawing view.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,102
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 7 of 9 (272 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

10-31-2011 05:49 AM in reply to: kevin.brown

I believe this hotfix addresses this problem.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17804781&linkID=9242019

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Member
kevin.brown
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-01-2005
Message 8 of 9 (259 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

10-31-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

that seems to do the trick...thanks!

Valued Contributor
Daniel248
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 9 of 9 (239 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 SP1 Harness Display

11-02-2011 03:03 AM in reply to: Breemum

With this Hotfix on, I am only able to toggle the visibility of one harness at the time, after breaking the view associativity link (IDW of an IPN). Does anyone see the same behaviour? Is this acceptable to you? 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.