Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
infopsm
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-12-2007
Message 1 of 11 (1,144 Views)

Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

1144 Views, 10 Replies
11-27-2012 06:23 AM

Hi guys!

 

We use Inventor 2012 on a workstation with these components:
OS: Windows 7 x64
CPU: Xeon 2.80 1333MHz 12M X5660
RAM: 8 GB
HDD: 250 GB 10000 rpm
Grafic Card: Nvidia Quadro 4000 (2 GB)

 

When we use a large inventor assembly and we rotate these assembly, some or many components dissapear then when we not execute any moviment on assembly, all parts are visible.

 

We use last Inventor certified driver for this grafic card and we re-install all autodesk suite but no works better.

 

Moreover, via an external software to Autodesk, we verified the performance of the GPU and never exceeds 30% usage.

 

Do you have any idea how I can configure Inventor to improve performance and that Inventor use over 30% of the GPU?

 

 

Thanks and regards!

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 11 (1,104 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: infopsm

What options are selected in this box (see attached screenshot)?

Active Contributor
infopsm
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-12-2007
Message 3 of 11 (1,093 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 07:18 AM in reply to: sbixler

Hi sbixler,

 

First, we try with option "Performance". We applied and then restart inventor.

 

Then we did same process with option "Quality".

 

Both got the same problem

 

Thanks for your help!

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 11 (1,084 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: infopsm

Software Graphics unchecked?

Active Contributor
infopsm
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-12-2007
Message 5 of 11 (1,082 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: sbixler

Yes, it's unchecked

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 6 of 11 (1,075 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: infopsm

Then I have no idea-- sorry.  You've got a good card and it ought to work.  Sounds as if my dinosaur of a system works better than your nice shiny new one!  I can open an 800-part assembly, the memory indicator immediately goes yellow (and soon into red if I do anything beyond look at it), but it rolls smoothly and easily, and no parts disappear-- and I'm driving a 2560 x 1600 monitor, too.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 7 of 11 (1,057 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-28-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: sbixler

The bottleneck may not be in the GPU.  Typically hardware uses as much as it needs and can get, so if its only running at 30% telling it to use "more" wouldn't improve much of anything.  That value may also be an artifact of the means used to calculate the value (its not a direct measurement); for example, it could be running full out in short spurts as the screen refreshes the image at designated intervals.

 

You may be bumping up against another problem, as not everything goes on inside the video card even for displaying.  What does the RAM usage look like when doing this?  Processor activity?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 8 of 11 (1,027 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-29-2012 02:48 AM in reply to: dgorsman

yeah, bottleneck could well be elsewhere...

 

Things that spring to mind:

 

memory:

8gb ram isn't that massive in this day and age with cad - if it's using a virtual page file at all it can kill performance.

 

Try running MemProbe that's in Inventor's bin folder (default location: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2012\Bin ) - see how much physical and virtual memory Inventor is using (if it's over a gig of virtual then could well be crying out for more ram).

 

processor:

Xeon chips are good for multi-threaded apps, Inventor isn't a mult-threaded app...   Looking at single-threaded benchmark: http://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html there isn't a X5660 listed but there is the quicker X5690 which is quite far down the table.  the X5660 is going to be even slower with its 2.8GHz clock compared to the 3.5Ghz of the X5690.  So, despite the mental cost of the X5660, it could well be struggling too...

 

If you're running big assemblies then I would imagine either (or both) of these being the bottleneck before the Quadro.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Valued Contributor
streharg
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 9 of 11 (1,012 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-29-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: infopsm

If it's hardware issue, then my vote for bottleneck goes to: hdd  and cpu.

8Gb of ram is enough for assemblies up to 10000 parts IMO.

 

Anyway, how big assembly do we speak about?

Factory design suite 2013 premium
Some old workstation ...
Fancy HP LCD
:smileyhappy:
Active Contributor
infopsm
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-12-2007
Message 10 of 11 (995 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012 GPU utilization less than 30%

11-29-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: streharg

CPU does not exceed 20-23%
Uses 4.3 GB of RAM 8 GB

 

Assembled pieces 9024/563. Can be problem of restrictions?

 

We run MemProbe and always have the first value to 0, does not change. I ran MemProbe on multiple computers and the result is the same. Maybe I do something wrong. 

I attached a screenshot screen.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.