Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
smb
Member
smb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 1 of 8 (443 Views)

Inventor 2010 won't open

443 Views, 7 Replies
05-06-2011 04:18 AM

I am running windows 7 64 bit and my computer has been running Inventor 2010 perfect then yesterday Windows 7 SP1 got loaded and now my inventor wont open or Autocad Mechanical 2010 even after uninstalling and reinstalling Inventor.  No errors to go buy nothing.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 8 (422 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

05-06-2011 06:08 AM in reply to: smb

try taking off sp1 for windows 7

Contributor
karl
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Message 3 of 8 (419 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

05-06-2011 06:18 AM in reply to: smb

thanks for the heads up. For the record, I am using Win7 64bit (version 6.1 build 7600) with IV2010 and it seems to be working quite well. no Service pack from what I can see.

--------
IV2010 64bit SP1
Intel Core i7 870 @2.93GHz
Windows 7 64bit Home Prem. with 8Gb RAM
nVidia geForce GTS 250
smb
Member
smb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 4 of 8 (416 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

05-06-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Did that and no joy if I could get an error it would be somthing. 

smb
Member
smb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 5 of 8 (414 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

05-06-2011 06:31 AM in reply to: karl

I usally test out the service packs and updates before I let it go into the wild but this one got by me. 

New Member
stardaly
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 6 of 8 (247 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

06-22-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: smb

Did you ever get an answer to non-opening Inventor?  I am having the same problem and can't find an answer.

I am using Autodesk Inventor 2010 x64, Windows 7 Professional Version 6.1, w/ service pack 1

The problem sounds the same, one day it works, next day nothing, and no error message to go by.  This has haoppened three times in two month.  An IT pro helped me the last two times, but when I asked to be shown how to fix it I was told it wouldn't happen again.  Well, here I am again...

smb
Member
smb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 7 of 8 (241 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

06-22-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: stardaly
Yes I did figure it out, there can be two problems causing it. If you can log on to that computer as someone else and it works you need to replace the following folder with one that works. On a windows 7 64 bit OS that works go to ( C:\Users\user name\Local\App Data\Autodesk\ Now under Autodesk you want to copy the folder Inventor 2010 Now go to the profile of the other user ( C:\Users\other use rname\Local\App Data\Autodesk\ Now rename the (Inventor 2010) folder like so (Inventor 2010__) with a couple of underscores behind it now paste the good Inventor 2010 folder in here. It should work now. The second problem could be the (CascadeInfo.cas) file has gotten corrupted , so in that case you simply go to C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ADLM and delete the CacadeInfo.cas file then try to run inventor.
Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 905
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 8 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 won't open

06-22-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: smb

I remember having to delete the cascade file once in the past to get Autodesk software to run again, but can't recall if it was due to SP1 being installed.  Just had to do it once, IIRC.

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.