Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
DInventor2009
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 1 of 5 (1,996 Views)

Inventor 2009 - Import/Export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc. File Types

1996 Views, 4 Replies
02-18-2010 12:27 PM
Using:
- Inventor 2009
- 64-Bit Edition
- Release 2009 SP2

Unable to import or export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc.
In "Tools", "Add-Ins" each of these file types is loaded but unable to get these options when "File", "Open" and checking in the "File Types" field.
Also unable to get these file type options when "File", "Save Copy As" and checking in the "Save As Type" field.

Have already attempted to re-register using "regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2009\Bin\DxRegister.dll".

Can anyone provide a clue as to how I can regain the ability to import and export these file types? Edited by: D on Feb 18, 2010 8:27 PM
*Rowland
Message 2 of 5 (1,996 Views)

Re: Inventor 2009 - Import/Export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc. File Types

02-18-2010 01:02 PM in reply to: DInventor2009
you mentioned 64-Bit, which O.S.?
Active Member
DInventor2009
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 3 of 5 (1,996 Views)

Re: Inventor 2009 - Import/Export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc. File Types

02-18-2010 01:11 PM in reply to: DInventor2009
Sorry. Windows XP Professional x64 Edition v2003 Service Pk 2
Employee
ChrisPan01
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
Message 4 of 5 (1,996 Views)

Re: Inventor 2009 - Import/Export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc. File Types

02-19-2010 06:00 PM in reply to: DInventor2009
There should be something wrong with the installation. I have to suggest you to re-install Inventor2009.

Chris Pan
Autodesk Inventor Translation Team
*Bob S.
Message 5 of 5 (1,996 Views)

Re: Inventor 2009 - Import/Export IGES, Parasolid, STEP, etc. File Types

02-20-2010 04:06 AM in reply to: DInventor2009
I think I would at least try a reboot and cleaning out temp files
first. I had a IV2009 on Vista64 crash whenever I tried to import
any file type, later after rebooting it appeared to work fine.
Though it does sound like maybe you either had a virus checker
active during install or the wrong permissions?

Chrispan01 wrote:
> There should be something wrong with the installation. I have to suggest you to re-install Inventor2009.
>
> Chris Pan
> Autodesk Inventor Translation Team
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!