Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Post 1 of 11

Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

2485 Views, 10 Replies
05-14-2012 09:55 AM

I need some help on getting Inventor to work on Windows 7 Professional. I just upgraded to Professional so I can use software that ran on XP but not of Windows 7.

We no longer have the employee that used Inventor but I still need to be able to open the files he worked on but cannot afford to upgrade just to do that.

Inventor opens fine but when I do File>Open or File>New I get an error message and it closes down.

Any tips for how to get this to work? Thank you

*Expert Elite*
7,322 Posts
655 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Post 2 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-14-2012 10:45 AM in reply to: bsand640

bsand640 wrote: I get an error message and it closes down.

Any tips for how to get this to work? Thank you


First tip... We aren't mind readers... How about actually telling us what the exact error message is?

 

Second tip... Inventor 2008 is not supported on Windows 7.

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Post 3 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-14-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Why the attitude in your response? I have a legitimate question and looking for some helpful answers.

 

The error message says "A software problem has caused Autocad to close unexpectedly..." No error # shown.

 

My Inventor software used to work on XP I have Windows 7 with XP mode which is supposed to run XP programs. I am making sure I have all updates for that at the moment and all updates for Inventor 2008.

*Expert Elite*
2,546 Posts
890 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Post 4 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-14-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: bsand640

Are you actually running inside of XP mode? You need to actually start a program from within Win 7 called "Virtual Machine" and open Inventor from within that program.

 

"The error message says "A software problem has caused Autocad to close unexpectedly..." No error # shown."

Is it AutoCAD that's crashing, did you accidentaly put AutoCAD and mean Inventor, or is it saying AutoCAD in an Inventor message?

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Post 5 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-14-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: mrattray
Autodesk Inventor Error Report is what comes up after it crashes *BRIAN SANDBERG* *s a n d m o u n t a i n , i n c . ** * * * *640 Lido Park Drive* *Newport Beach, CA 92663* *P (949) 675-5475* *F (949) 675-5924* *www.sandmountain.net * *P** **Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail* __________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 7137 (20120514) __________ The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus. http://www.eset.com
*Expert Elite*
4,623 Posts
774 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 6 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-14-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: bsand640

IV2008 came out prior to Vista and WIn7 and is not compatible. You require at least IV2009 SP1 to run on Vista or Win7. Even trying to install IV2008 in compatibilty mode will cause problems, crashing Inventor.

 

Your only two choices are to install your Inventor version 2008 on a Win XP machine, or purchase a newer version IV2013 version to install on your Win7 machine.

 

No work-around or patches for IV2008 to get it to work on a O/S it wasn't designed for. If you do get it to run, don't expect this configuration to be stable and work without problems.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
2,546 Posts
890 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Post 7 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-15-2012 04:41 AM in reply to: blair

I'm not talking about compatibility mode, I'm talking baout the virtual machine. It's basicaly Windows XP running inside of Win 7. It works if you do it right, I've used it to run non Win 7 compatible AutoDesk software before with success (although I haven't tried IV08). It sounds like all he wants to do is be able to open some old files, not really work in it, so I don't see any point in investing in new software for that.

Although having said that, if all you want to do is open the files up, spin them around, and take some measurements, why not try Inventor viewer?

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
647 Posts
200 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Post 8 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-15-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: mrattray

dont forget the xp virtual machine in Win 7 emulates all hardware, so doesn't take advantage of your physical hardware at all, no matter what you have.  The main one to think about is the graphics card - Virtual XP only runs as a 4 meg (S3 - whatever that is) graphics card - hardly enough to do anything in 3d...  So I would have a hard time recommending anyone use virtual XP for any Inventor work (tbh, I'd be surprised if Inventor ran at all).

 

We use XP mode to use our old large format printer, and that's enough of a pain - would hate to have to use it for cad work. 

 

While on the topic of virtual XP mode - don't forget it runs as a separate pc within Win 7 so it is outside any Win 7 virus scanner, etc.  So if you plan to use it then make sure to consider installing a suitable virus scanner within it - which means ANOTHER licence...

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
*Expert Elite*
4,623 Posts
774 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 9 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-15-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: bsand640

I would spend $80.00 from someone like Newegg and buy a second HD, load XP on it and dual boot your machine for the few times you need IV2008.

 

Not pretty, but IV2008 will run on it.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1-ud2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-980 Classified - 347.09
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Post 10 of 11

Re: Inventor 2008 and Windows 7 Professional

05-15-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: blair
Thanks for your comments, I will give some of this a try. __________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 7139 (20120515) __________ The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus. http://www.eset.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post