Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
beau-tech
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 1 of 4 (250 Views)

Invalid Argument with Database error message

250 Views, 3 Replies
01-28-2013 05:50 AM

I sometimes get a error message stating 'invalid arguments specified when working with database...' (see attachment). What causes these and can I fix them? The file opens and seems to work ok.

 

Thank you.

 

Pete Beau

 

IV 2012, 64 bit, SP-2

 

Win 7, 8 gb, Quadro 1000m

Product Support
4donwan4
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 2 of 4 (228 Views)

Re: Invalid Argument with Database error message

01-29-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: beau-tech

It is hard to say what the cause is but I would say the file is corrupted. You can try to isolate if it is part related within the sub assembly. Run the sub-assemblies through the file task scheduler migration files task with rebuild all and compact model history options on and point the log file somewhere easy to retrieve. After migration look in the log file to see if there were any failures on part files. You can try to fix by rebuilding these and replacing them.
Don

Distinguished Contributor
beau-tech
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 3 of 4 (217 Views)

Re: Invalid Argument with Database error message

01-29-2013 03:38 PM in reply to: 4donwan4

Thanks for the help. I didn't know that IV had a file rebuilder. I remember the restore feature in Mech Desktop. I'll try it.

 

I noticed that some files that do this have representations that don't apply any more or are missing components that were related to them. However deleting the reps. didn't fix the error message.

 

Pete

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,440
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (210 Views)

Re: Invalid Argument with Database error message

01-29-2013 09:42 PM in reply to: beau-tech

You can also restore a part from the "Old Versions" folder in each directory that parts are stored in. You will need to rename the file to get ride of the version in the file name

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.