Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interference analysis claims self-intersecting surfaces on identical parts

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
russ
2020 Views, 5 Replies

Interference analysis claims self-intersecting surfaces on identical parts

Hi all,

I'm rather new to Inventor, still learning.  I've designed a part from scratch that is rotationally symmetric, that is, it mates to itself when rotated 180 degrees, thus creating a shelled solid from a single part.  When I put two instances into an assembly and constrain them face to face plus constraining vertices at the top and bottom and run interference analysis, it tells me "The attempted operation would create self-intersecting surfaces...."  Can someone explain why this happens and how I might solve it?  I've done this with a nearly identical part and the worst I got was some tiny interference area when I didn't do the assembly right.

I do struggle with figuring out how to specify the constraints on this time of same-part assembly.  Am I doing it right?  I've tried different constraints, but the results are always the same.

Thanks for any help at all.  Part and assembly attached.

-Russ

-Russ
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
rdyson
in reply to: russ

Not quite sure why the self intersection error, but if you reconstrain using origin planes (to avoid constraint conflicts) and move the parts away from each other by a very small amount, you can get interference results. The snaps at the bottom show a bit of interference. Don't know if that's what's causing the self intersection error or not.

PDSU 2016
Message 3 of 6
russ
in reply to: rdyson