Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
chrisrodway
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 1 of 3 (912 Views)

Insert Part using Ilogic

912 Views, 2 Replies
01-02-2013 11:09 AM

I would like to use Ilogic to insert a part into an assembly I have found the basic rule but what changes do i need to make to get it to put the selected part into an assembly.

 

DimoFileDlgAsinventor.FileDialog=NothingInventorVb.Application.CreateFileDialog(oFileDlg)'oFileDlg.Filter = "Inventor Files (*.iam;*.ipt)|*.iam;*.ipt|All Files (*.*)|*.*"

'oFileDlg.Filter = "XML Files (*.xml)|*.xml"

'oFileDlg.Filter = "Excel Files (*.xls;*.xlsx)|*.xls;*.xlsx"

'oFileDlg.Filter = "Text Files (*.txt;*.csv)|*.txt;*.csv"

'oFileDlg.Filter = "SAT Files (*.sat)|*.sat"

'oFileDlg.Filter = "IGES Files (*.igs)|*.igs"oFileDlg.Filter="Step Files (*.stp)|*.stp"'oFileDlg.DialogTitle = "Select a File"oFileDlg.InitialDirectory=ThisDoc.PathoFileDlg.CancelError=TrueOnErrorResumeNextoFileDlg.ShowOpen()IfErr.Number<>0ThenMessageBox.Show("File not chosen.", "Dialog Cancellation")ElseIfoFileDlg.FileName<>""Thenselectedfile=oFileDlg.FileNameMessageBox.Show("File "&selectedfile&" was selected.", "Dialog Selection Made")EndIf

 

 

Any ideas would be appreciated

 

Cheers

 

Chris Rodway

Cheers

Chris Rodway
Design Engineer
Sheffield, UK
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 3 (899 Views)

Re: Insert Part using Ilogic

01-02-2013 01:28 PM in reply to: chrisrodway

Hi chrisrodway,

 

There is an example zip file showing the use of iLogic to place and replace components in an assembly at this link:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/ilogic-part-insertion/m-p/3667380#M451815

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Valued Contributor
chrisrodway
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 3 of 3 (873 Views)

Re: Insert Part using Ilogic

01-03-2013 08:16 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thanks for the reply,

 

The link is helpful and is helping me to understand ilogic more.

But for my situation it would be better if you could select a file in the file selection dialogue (in this case a surface in iges format) and be placed in the part file. This surface is then used to reference features to build the part, which I am aiming to do in Ilogic as well.

 

Is this possible

 

Thanks

 

Chris Rodway

 

Cheers

Chris Rodway
Design Engineer
Sheffield, UK
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.