Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 1 of 12 (318 Views)
Accepted Solution

“Improper Argument

318 Views, 11 Replies
02-22-2013 12:42 PM

When opening files in Inventor 2013 we have a number of systems getting “Improper Argument” and then Inventor crashes.  We are running Building 176 of 2013 sp1.1

 

Is this a known issue?

 

I've attached one of the files causing the issue.

 

Thanks,

 

Brad

We are running Windows 7.

 

I was able to push everything except the following out through Group Policy:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER>SOFTWARE>AUTODESK

 

and it still didn't work.  I actually got an error about not being able to access the registry when Inventory was opened.  Any ideas how to push out hte setting above or why I got that message?

 

Thanks,

 

Brad

I finally figured out the issue was related to fodler permissions.  I'm not sure why it only affected some users and not others but here is what I found.

 

Student home folders are in:

\\server\homeshare\gradyear\username

 

Their my documents is mapped directly to the path above.  The students did not have adequate permissions to browse through the folders.  This doesn't cause a problem for MS Office or another apps we use but does Autodesk...  This seems like it could be addressed in a future code revision.

 

I granted rights to the rights to browse through the folders and the issue went away.

 

Brad

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 12 (312 Views)

Re: “Improper Argument

02-22-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: breichert

I was able to open the file and perform an Extrude without issue.  I have Update 2 installed.

 

Try going to Tools>Application Options>Hardware tab and set on lowest setting.  Does that help?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 3 of 12 (301 Views)

Re: ?Improper Argument

02-22-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: JDMather
What version of inventor are you running? On what OS? Brad
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 12 (300 Views)

Re: ?Improper Argument

02-22-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: breichert

breichert wrote:
What version of inventor are you running? On what OS? Brad

Information in my signature.  Added info to response that I also have Update 2.

Win 7 Home Premium

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 5 of 12 (276 Views)

Re: ?Improper Argument

02-22-2013 04:17 PM in reply to: JDMather

I'll tried your suggestion Monday.

 

Thanks!

 

Brad

Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 6 of 12 (240 Views)

Re: ?Improper Argument

02-25-2013 09:05 AM in reply to: JDMather

I've already got it as low as it will go.

 

Brad

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 12 (236 Views)

Re: ?Improper Argument

02-25-2013 09:14 AM in reply to: breichert

I suspect that only your VAR sitting at your machines will be able to solve this problem.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Product Support
4donwan4
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 8 of 12 (225 Views)

Re: “Improper Argument

02-25-2013 01:38 PM in reply to: breichert

Can you verify if full permissions have been set to these folders? It is our best practice to allow users full permissions, but where this can't be done, Autodesk software needs full permission to:

Registry Entries:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER>SOFTWARE>AUTODESK
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>SOFTWARE>AUTODESK  *

Folders:
The folder the program was installed in c:\program files\AutoCAD 2011 (for example)

XP:
c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\Autodesk
c:\documents and settings\<the current user>\application data\Autodesk
c:\program files\common files\autodesk shared
c:\Program Files\Autodesk


Win7/Vista:
C:\Users\All Users\Autodesk
C:\Users\<the current user>\AppData\Local\Autodesk
C:\Users\<the current user>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared
C:\Program Files\Autodesk *
C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet
C:\ProgramData\Autodesk

Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 9 of 12 (214 Views)

Re: “Improper Argument

02-25-2013 04:30 PM in reply to: 4donwan4

That looks like it might do the trick.  I'll give it a try in the morning.

 

Thanks!

 

Brad

Active Member
breichert
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 10 of 12 (192 Views)

Re: “Improper Argument

02-26-2013 02:40 AM in reply to: 4donwan4

We are running Windows 7.

 

I was able to push everything except the following out through Group Policy:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER>SOFTWARE>AUTODESK

 

and it still didn't work.  I actually got an error about not being able to access the registry when Inventory was opened.  Any ideas how to push out hte setting above or why I got that message?

 

Thanks,

 

Brad

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.