Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 21 of 26 (347 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-20-2011 06:15 PM in reply to: john

Two things need your confirm,:

1  What's version DWG TrueView installed on your machine?If older than 2012, I would suggest you to uninstall all the older version DWG TrueView, then install 2012 version.

2  Can you import other DWG files?




Emily Xu
Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 22 of 26 (324 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-22-2011 01:22 AM in reply to: emily.xu

Do you have any update on this issue?




Emily Xu
Employee
raymondxu
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 23 of 26 (307 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-22-2011 09:39 PM in reply to: john

Hi John,

 

Here is a workflow you can use and see whether it can fix your problem.

 

Close Inventor process, run "cmd" command from Windows Start menu

In Cmd window, change directory to Inventor installation folder by typing command like

    cd "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2012\bin"

Then type below command to register Inventor

    Inventor /install

Run Inventor, copy and paste geometries from AutoCAD to Inventor 2d sketch.

 

 

Regards,

 

Raymond Xu



Raymond Xu
Senior Software Engineer
Manufacturing Industry Group
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 24 of 26 (276 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

01-06-2012 02:41 PM in reply to: raymondxu

Thanks for the suggestion. I tried the install script through the DOS prompt, but Inventor still crashes.

 

I have DWG True View 2012 installed. Also, I am at SP1 on Inventor. I updated my Windows 7 software to be the latest and greatest.

 

I don't think it is a graphics card issue since the same problem occurs on my laptop which is running off a graphics chip.

 

:smileymad:

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 25 of 26 (254 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

01-08-2012 08:23 PM in reply to: john

We have tried all the possible solutions I can think. Since you stated that you have the same problem on both machine, then I think maybe something conflict with inventor, would you please try to run in diagnostic mode, see if the problem can be reproduced?

Run in diagnostic mode:http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=6453117&linkID=9240617

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 




Emily Xu
Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 26 of 26 (197 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

04-03-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: john

Just to close this thread out...

 

After many trials and tribulations, it appears that my personal profile in Windows 7 was corrupted somehow and that is what is not allowing me to cut & paste CAD. I can login to my computer as a local administrator to get around this and everything works. My IT guy had a tough time rebuilding my profile so I am stuck for now until I get a new workstation in a month.

 

If you are having the same problem, try to login to your computer as a local administrator (not to your company's network) and see if that fixes the problem.

 

closed case:smileyfrustrated:

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.