Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 1 of 26 (1,166 Views)

Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

1166 Views, 25 Replies
11-10-2011 03:42 PM

I am having difficulty importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012. I tried the import command at file open, the import command within a sketch, and just copying and pasting from ACAD 2012 and the lines are condensed into a single point. Is this a graphics card issue? I did not have this problem on 2010 (I am using 2010 temporarily for importing as a workaround).

:robotsad:

 

 

***************graphics info**************************

This Direct3D graphics driver is Microsoft WHQL certified
Graphics Hardware Description:
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX

AIRViz Device Manager \ VirtualDeviceDx11
Feature Level 4_1
Performance Mode
Hardware Renderer

Graphics driver file nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um is version 8.17.12.8562
Current optimization settings are not known
The display is using 32-bit color


Inventor Version:

Build: 190, Release: 2012 SP1 - Date: Mon 08/08/2011       
64-Bit Edition - 8192.00 GB


Loaded Inventor Add-Ins:

Inventor Fusion Change Manager
Fusion Freeform Edit Launcher
Inventor Studio
Design Accelerator
Frame Generator
BIM Exchange
Drag & Drop Interoperability


System Information:

Operating System:         64-bit Microsoft Windows 7 Professional  (Build 7601) Service Pack 1
Language:             English
System Manufacturer:         empty
System Model:             empty
BIOS:                 BIOS Date: 12/29/06 13:54:57 Ver: 08.00.14
Processor:             Dual-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2220 (2 processors, 4 cores)
System Memory:             15.999 GB RAM


Graphics Device Information:

Renderer:             HAL
Manufacturer:             NVIDIA
Chip Type:             GeForce 8800 GTX
DAC Type:             Integrated RAMDAC
Graphics HW Memory:         768 MB
Display Mode:             1600 x 1200 (32 bit) (60 Hz)

Graphics driver file:         nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver file version:         8.17.12.8562
Driver Date:             15 October 2011 0:00:00 UTC (Coordinated Universal Time)



*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,251
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 26 (1,164 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

11-10-2011 03:45 PM in reply to: john

Attach a sample dwg file here.
What options do you have set on Import?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 3 of 26 (1,126 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

11-11-2011 09:18 AM in reply to: JDMather

Here are screen shots of the import settings:

import1.jpgimport2.jpgimport3.jpgimport4.jpg

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,251
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 26 (1,118 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

11-11-2011 09:55 AM in reply to: john

Well, I just verified that I can in fact Import your dwg sketch, so now how to find the problem on your machine?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 918
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 5 of 26 (1,117 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

11-11-2011 10:10 AM in reply to: john

One possibility:

Make sure that template files "standard.idw" actually exists or change the destination template to one that you use

 

Shooting in the dark!

Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 6 of 26 (1,068 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

11-17-2011 02:25 PM in reply to: rdyson

Thanks rdyson. I double checked and it looks like my files were embedded in the bowels of "My Documents". I reinstalled Inventor so the files were in the correct location. However, I still have the same problem with importing.

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 7 of 26 (1,027 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-04-2011 10:10 PM in reply to: john

I can also import the .dwg file perfectly.Maybe something wrong with your profile or program.Would you please try to use another user to login your machine and test then?




Emily Xu
Active Member
john
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 8 of 26 (1,010 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-06-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: emily.xu

I logged in as a new user, but still the same result.

 

Active Contributor
drlamb
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 9 of 26 (1,002 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-06-2011 11:09 AM in reply to: john

Have you tried a zoom all after you import? Mine usually tends to be way off of the origin when imported.

Donald L.

Inventor Product Design Suite Premium 2014
Windows 7 Professional - 64 bit
HP h8-1380t - i7-3820 @ 3.6 GHz
10 Gb
AMD Radeon HD7950 3Gb
Active Contributor
drlamb
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 10 of 26 (994 Views)

Re: Importing ACAD sketches into Inventor 2012

12-06-2011 11:37 AM in reply to: drlamb

Also if you leave it set to mm instead of detected units it is going to be really small. A little over an eighth of an inch

Donald L.

Inventor Product Design Suite Premium 2014
Windows 7 Professional - 64 bit
HP h8-1380t - i7-3820 @ 3.6 GHz
10 Gb
AMD Radeon HD7950 3Gb
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.