Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 1 of 13 (165 Views)

Import problem

165 Views, 12 Replies
02-15-2012 06:08 AM

I have a 3ds max file that the company i work for needs to get into inventor.  I have tried exporting the file to .sat, .iges, and .dwg file an none have imported the assembly into inventor properly.  Any suggestions on what the problem could be and how to fix it?

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 869
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 2 of 13 (155 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

Software releases please....

 

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 3 of 13 (144 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

Inventor 2010 suite and 3ds max 2012.  the exported dwg file will open in autocad but not in inventor.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,059
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 13 (139 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

djlilmattie wrote:

Inventor 2010 suite and 3ds max 2012.  the exported dwg file will open in autocad but not in inventor.


Why not?  Attach the dwg file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 5 of 13 (128 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: JDMather

the import finishes without any errors but none of the parts show up.  not sure what the porblem is, maybe a settings issue???  i would gladly attach the file but it exceeds the allowable size.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,059
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 13 (120 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

What does List return in AutoCAD?
Send to jmather_at_pct_dot_edu

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 7 of 13 (113 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: JDMather

what do you mean?

Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 8 of 13 (110 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: JDMather

watertight mesh = yes

initial mesh face count = 624

 

this is the message in command line.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,059
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 13 (104 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

Send me the dwg file.

You could try the Sculpt icon (I don't know the command-line command) in AutoCAD first - but I suspect it will fail.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 10 of 13 (102 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: JDMather

i would love to send you the file but i've tried and it is to large even after compressed. 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.