Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,204
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 4 (180 Views)

Images file in Templates with a transparent background

180 Views, 3 Replies
12-14-2012 06:49 PM

I have a .png file that I want to place in a template.  This png file is text with a transparent background.  When I place this in my template, the background is shown in white.  The sheet color the idw is beige, so this doesnt look very good.

 

Also, when I save a copy of the idw as .dwg, the white background is shown there as well.

 

Of coarse when it prints, it is ok.  Wondering if there was a way to have it stay transparent in both?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,084
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (160 Views)

Re: Images file in Templates with a transparent background

12-15-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: karthur1

The PNG would need to be generated with the "Alpha Channel" option. This allows for the background to be transparent.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,204
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Images file in Templates with a transparent background

12-15-2012 03:52 PM in reply to: blair

I am editing the image in photoshop.  The image has a transparent background.  I havent had any luck with it yet.

 

2012-12-15_1747.png

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,084
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (129 Views)

Re: Images file in Templates with a transparent background

12-16-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: karthur1

I wonder if it's just not do-able in the IDW environment. I've played around with a couple different files in PS6 and always get a background that is white, even though it's transparent in other graphics applications.

 

"I have the CS6 premium suite that I am using"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.