Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
seismicsource
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 1 of 7 (641 Views)

Image offset BROKEN

641 Views, 6 Replies
06-21-2013 06:32 AM

Yesterday I modified the 3in Square - Terra Cotta Texture that comes with Inventor 2013. I loaded my own custom texture for both the bump map and the ceramic. This morning I was greeted with the following image. The offset is messed up but now I cant change it. I change the numbers for x and y but nothing happens but in the preview only, scaling still works but offset doesnt update the texture. Any help would be appreciated.OFFSET Screenshot.jpg

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,531
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (620 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN

06-21-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: seismicsource

I don't have an answer for your question, but from looking at the image of your browser, the texture isn't the only thing broken.

 

errors.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
seismicsource
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 3 of 7 (611 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN

06-21-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thats expected as you are modeling and constantly trying to keep the big picture in mind. I just have to throw all the parts on every once in a while to give progress reports then as I modify the model these constraints are no longer relevant. I'll correct them last thing. Good eye though.

Active Member
seismicsource
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 4 of 7 (606 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN SOLVEDish needs bug fix

06-21-2013 08:29 AM in reply to: seismicsource

I fixed it! Sorta, the Raytrace was the trigger. I load the model up turn on raytrace and it pops the texture into position. turn off raytrace and it remembers the position until I close and reload the model, then I have to turn raytrace on for a second again. I'm happy but Autodesk needs to fix this.

*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,311
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 5 of 7 (603 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN

06-21-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: seismicsource

I don't know about the bump map and all, but wouldn't this make more sense as a decal?

Employee
samiharada
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 6 of 7 (594 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN SOLVEDish needs bug fix

06-21-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: seismicsource

Hi,

I don't think "Officet" properties is not supported in Shaded Visual Styles.

FYI - you can see following test in Texture Editor dialog box

 

Shaded visual styles do not use all texture properties for display. When you edit an unused texture property, the canvas display does not change to show the modification. To see the change, switch to the Realistic visual style, and disable ray tracing.

 

You may also want to see Appearance Editor dialog box

Hope this helps,

 

-Sami Harada

Inventor Framework QA

Autodesk, Inc.

Email_Signature_Logobar.jpg

Active Member
seismicsource
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 7 of 7 (570 Views)

Re: Image offset BROKEN SOLVEDish needs bug fix

06-21-2013 02:35 PM in reply to: samiharada

I understand what you mean, it was the Visual Style not the actual raytracing that forced an update of this offset information. Thats because shaded supports texture scale but not offset yet. Inconsistant but since it's in the wiki help official resources it almost sounds like a feature but I know better, 2014 here we come. Thanks for your replys everyone.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.