Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
omartin
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-18-2007
Message 1 of 7 (264 Views)
Accepted Solution

iLOGIC WORKFLOW

264 Views, 6 Replies
10-01-2012 11:38 AM

I made a simple rule that triggers before save to ask user to make a selection, which then updates an iProperty.

I created A multi value fxParameter and used the InputListbox function.

 

Ultimately I want to know the best way ok making this rule available to all parts, old and new.

 

I am thinking, it will be easy enough to update my templates and embed this code into the part, as well as content center files by updating each file / template .

 

But for existing parts, is there a way to add these rules without the user having to do much steps.

because there is an fxParameter I am thinking the user will have to know how add this to their part.

 

I can change it to just an input box where they can type in the correct value, if that would be easier.

 

Thanks!

You can have the rule look for the fxParameter and if not found to add it. If I was not headed out the door I would look for my code that does this.

 

If some one does not help you I will post it in then morning.

 

This way you can have my code in your rule and have them just load an external rule (your rule) and run it.

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,976
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 7 (258 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-01-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: omartin

You can have the rule look for the fxParameter and if not found to add it. If I was not headed out the door I would look for my code that does this.

 

If some one does not help you I will post it in then morning.

 

This way you can have my code in your rule and have them just load an external rule (your rule) and run it.


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Distinguished Contributor
omartin
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-18-2007
Message 3 of 7 (255 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-01-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: jletcher

That is a good idea!! I am thinking too basic (becasue im just starting to use iLogic).

 

I can figure out how to do the checks and add the parameter if its not there.

 

but how would I make it available for existing parts.

 

Thanks again.

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,976
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 4 of 7 (225 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-02-2012 05:02 AM in reply to: omartin

Not sure who it was but look in the forum someone made a nice tool that would add rules to existing parts.

 

But you also can make the same rule external so when you come to a part that does not have the rule they can add it as an external rule.

 

But I would look for the tool myself. Let me see if I can locate it.


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,976
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 7 (217 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-02-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: jletcher

I did some search but if I remember it was embedded in a thread that was not titled with ilogic or anything that can be searched.

 

If I think about it I believe Curtis Waguespack  wrote it but not sure. I saved it to my drive but my drive id not with me right now but if you can't find it post a thread on it I am sure Curtis Waguespack  will repost.

 

If not I will post tomorrow when I have my drive..


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,976
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 6 of 7 (210 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-02-2012 05:17 AM in reply to: omartin

Found it but it was Megajerk that helped with it and others but here is a link to it and you can read about it to make sure it is what you need.

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2012/02/injecting-ilogic-code-and-ilogic-event-tri...


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Distinguished Contributor
omartin
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-18-2007
Message 7 of 7 (178 Views)

Re: iLOGIC WORKFLOW

10-02-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: jletcher

Great, thanks again James, this looks like it will work.

 

Cheers.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.