Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
LewisLusby
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 1 of 4 (608 Views)
Accepted Solution

iLogic: Printing

608 Views, 3 Replies
12-12-2012 05:50 PM

I dont want to print directly from code but simply open the "print drawing" tab via iLogic

 

Any ideas,

Thanks

Hi  LewisLusby,

 

You can use this line to programatically "push" the print button:

 

ThisApplication.CommandManager.ControlDefinitions.Item("AppFilePrintCmd").Execute

 

Also just a tip: you might have better luck searching and asking questions of this type on the Inventor Customization forum:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/bd-p/120

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,987
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 4 (588 Views)

Re: iLogic: Printing

12-13-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: LewisLusby

Hi  LewisLusby,

 

You can use this line to programatically "push" the print button:

 

ThisApplication.CommandManager.ControlDefinitions.Item("AppFilePrintCmd").Execute

 

Also just a tip: you might have better luck searching and asking questions of this type on the Inventor Customization forum:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/bd-p/120

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Contributor
LewisLusby
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 3 of 4 (560 Views)

Re: iLogic: Printing

12-16-2012 07:06 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Just what I was after.

 

Much appreciated Curtis,

Thanks

Active Contributor
ComputerGuru666
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 4 of 4 (456 Views)

Re: iLogic: Printing

03-01-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: LewisLusby

Is there a way to catch this command before it executes?

 

Example: I want to use an iLogic form that is triggered via the iTrigger that users have to prompt to select what kind of print this is "RELEASE, REFERENCE, or DRAFT" once there selection is made the the form exits, the "Plot Stamp" in the title block is updated based on the selection and the print window is excuted with this command.

 

Now I have all this worked out but being that this isnt a perfect world the problem is users still sometimes click the print button which does not prompt them for the print type which is a problem. Which is why I am wondering if a user clicks the print button I can prompt the iLogic form before the print options window comes up?

 

Thank you

Computer Specs:
Windows 7 (64 Bit) Pro. SP1, Inventor 2014 Pro, 3D Connexion SpaceNavigator (Driver 3.15.2)
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme x79 Socket 2011
Processor: Intel Core i7 Six Core Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz OCed to 4.7GHz (Under Water)
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw Z-Series 32 gig quad channel of RAM 1800MHz OCed to 2133MHz
Video Card: 2x Nvidia Geforce GTX 770 (Running Six (6) Monitors)
Monitors: [Primary = 2x 24in HD WS][Secondary = 2x 22in HD WS][Tertiary = 2x 19in FS]
Primary Hard Drive: OCZ Vertex IV 256 GB Solid State Drive
Secondary Hard Drive: OCZ Vertex III 120 GB Solid State Drive
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!