Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 1 of 13 (279 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ilogic or macro

279 Views, 12 Replies
04-24-2013 05:05 AM

Not too informed on the coding part, but can anyone give me an idea on how to get my length field and my mass per sq ft field and put the result into a custom field in the BOM? Trying to get gross weight, not the net weight inventor gives by default. Want the weight of the part before any machining would be done to it.

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit

This doesn't help you with the plates, but for some of the Frame Generator shapes (angles are the one I confirmed it exists on),  there is a user parameter MAS, which represents Mass per Length.

 

If you added this parameter to the families currently missing that value, then you could have the FG parts calculate their own pre-machined weight, without any coding.  Instead, you would just add another User Parameter, Gross_Weight.

 

Gross_Weight could then be defined as:

Gross_Weight = MAS x G_L

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 13 (273 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: swhite

Steven,

Is this link what you are looking for?

http://www.inventortales.com/2012/02/sum-of-its-parts-adding-column-values.html

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 898
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 3 of 13 (256 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 05:50 AM in reply to: swhite

Depending on exactly what you're doing (how you're getting those Length and Mass per sq ft values), you may not need any coding at all.  Do you already have these values in your model as Model or User parameters?

 

If so, you can just check the Export column in the Parameters dialog box, and that will create a custom iProperty with the same name (and value) as the parameter.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 4 of 13 (242 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 06:15 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

But therein lies the problem, the mass field only gives me the mass of the object as is, after finished, while I need it to give me the weight "before" any machining is done, "after" the machining is done :smileyhappy:

Would density x length simply be enough? This must work for plates, beams, channels, tubes, etc, so need a common formula I can apply to all parts.

 

We currently have a field that calculates the net weight and a way to total these up in the parts list, but am unable to get the gross weight before machining. We are getting it to work, but it requires we go into the content center and libraries and put codes and fields into every single part. Time consuming to say the least. Was wondering if anyone good at coding knew a simpler way, a macro or rule one could run instead?

Weight.PNG

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 5 of 13 (234 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: swhite

What about a derived part situation?  One that represents the before and one for the after.

Then you could have each linked and yet still give you the weights you need.

Would that work?

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 6 of 13 (226 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 06:45 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hey scott.

 

Thought of that, but we use FG to make oil rigs and sometimes parts need completely finished before work can begin on another part, and really not fond of the idea of having to place and trim all beams just to create a pre-finished model. Plus plates for connectors, etc., and then the 10,000 changes begin and the finished is not even close to the start :smileyhappy:

My problem is that LxWxT/density gives me what I need, but of course the length, width and thickness fields for beams, channels, tubes, etc are not labeled the same and beams have 2 thickness fields as web and flange.

That being said was wondering if the density of the material per square foot X length would give me what I need as we already have our custom length fields in the parts.

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 7 of 13 (223 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: swhite

Hi Steven,

I getcha.  What about creating an LOD?  Would that work?  But after thinking about it that would still only give you one representation in the BOM I think.  Unless you did a factory file.  I think anyway you go is going to be some what complicated and time consuming.  :smileysad:

What you might be looking at is making a suggestion in the Inventor IdeaStation

that would add an additional base parameter in the part, that is set by the user.  Meaning the user establish in cases like what you are describing when the base weight is.  Then you would have two weight values.  One as the raw setting and the after machining value.

 

See the idea I posted and see if it makes sense to you.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Additional-Weight-Parameter-Setting/idi-p/3887006

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

 

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 898
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 8 of 13 (213 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: swhite

This doesn't help you with the plates, but for some of the Frame Generator shapes (angles are the one I confirmed it exists on),  there is a user parameter MAS, which represents Mass per Length.

 

If you added this parameter to the families currently missing that value, then you could have the FG parts calculate their own pre-machined weight, without any coding.  Instead, you would just add another User Parameter, Gross_Weight.

 

Gross_Weight could then be defined as:

Gross_Weight = MAS x G_L

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 9 of 13 (207 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I think Curtis Waguespack's idea of part LOD's would cover this: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Level-of-Detail-for-Parts/idi-p/3822718

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 10 of 13 (190 Views)

Re: Ilogic or macro

04-24-2013 10:51 AM in reply to: jtylerbc

I'll look into that, thanks. I knew there was a density field which i figured with some math could use to get the gross weight, and maybe inventor already uses the MAS value to get the density. Thanks.

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.