Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iLogic LOD export BOM

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
2539 Views, 9 Replies

iLogic LOD export BOM

I'm a newbie to iLogic. My task consist in exporting a BOM of an iLogic assembly. I've doing some research with no luck.

Is any way to get an accurate BOM of other LOD other than the master. If so, is it only available in certain Inventor releases?

I am trying to acomplish this thru API, but I get error when in different LOD than master.

iLogic assembly has some parts supress thats why we need to create a new BOM

Thanks in advace,

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
MjDeck
in reply to: Anonymous

You can export the BOM, but you can only do it from the Master LOD.  In spite of the fact that you are exporting from the Master LOD, if you are using iLogic functions to suppress components then they will also be removed from the BOM.  iLogic sets their BOM structure to Reference.  Here is a sample rule to export the BOM.  It should work in Inventor 2009, 2010 or 2011.

Dim doc as AssemblyDocument = ThisDoc.Document
If doc.ComponentDefinition.RepresentationsManager.ActiveLevelOfDetailRepresentation.LevelOfDetail <> LevelOfDetailEnum.kMasterLevelOfDetail Then Return

Dim bomName As String = ThisDoc.PathAndFileName(False) + "-Bom.xls"

ThisBOM.Export("Parts Only", bomName, kMicrosoftExcelFormat)

Mike Deck
Software Developer
Autodesk, Inc.

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: MjDeck

@MjDeck wrote:

...  iLogic sets their BOM structure to Reference. 

Hi Mike,

Can you clarify that statement?

Is the BOM temporarily set to Reference, just for the export?

If not wouldn't this cause issues with other assemblies?

Message 4 of 10
MjDeck

This rule function:

Component.IsActive("PartA:1") = False