Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
daulj
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 1 of 5 (153 Views)

iLogic help

153 Views, 4 Replies
01-08-2013 07:00 AM

So I'm having an issue with suppressing components when the conditions vary. I have some wedges and the the configuration and quantity varys based on the parameter selected. I can have one wedge per pocket, two wedges per pocket, and so on. The pockets also vary. There may be 2, 3, 4, or 5 pockets with either 1, 2, or 4 wedges each. I'm not sure the best way to suppress them when the conditions change. I currently have enough wedges for each variaton, but when parameters change some seem to stay active. Any suggestions. I may not have this set up the best way, or I may just need a bunch more rules, but I'll take any suggestions! Files are attached.

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 5 (141 Views)

Re: iLogic help

01-08-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: daulj

What version of inventor are you using?

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Active Member
daulj
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 3 of 5 (121 Views)

Re: iLogic help

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: swordmaster
I'm using Inventor 2013, but I actually found a way to get it to work properly. It was a pain in the ****, though. I had to call out every wedge and every scenario. There has to be a better way then the way I figured out. Below is a sample of the 2900 lines of code I wrote: If stake_pocket_configuration = "two_stakes_two_wedges" And number_of_stake_pockets = "5" Then Component.IsActive("wedge2-2_a1") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:23") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:24") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:25") = True Component.IsActive("wedge2-2_a2") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:26") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:27") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:28") = True Component.IsActive("wedge2-2_a3") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:29") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:30") = True Constraint.IsActive("Mate:31") = True This goes on for "two stakes two wedges" And 4 pockets, then 3 pockets, then 2 etc. Then there's also two stakes and one wedge with all the same combinations...it took FOREVER! Any recommendations would be appreciated! -Justin
Distinguished Mentor
pcrawley
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎05-23-2002
Message 4 of 5 (119 Views)

Re: iLogic help

01-15-2013 07:16 PM in reply to: daulj

I think there may be a much neater solution - but you'll need to post all the files for someone to have a look.  The 3 files you have attached don't make up the whole assembly.

 

From the little I can see, you would be better off creating an assembly pattern of stakes and wedges, then controlling the number in the pattern through your iLogic rules.  

 

I could be wrong - I just can't see the whole model.

Peter
Valued Mentor
MegaJerk
Posts: 277
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Message 5 of 5 (107 Views)

Re: iLogic help

01-16-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: pcrawley

^^^ Agreed.

Post files, and despite that I can not use them (2012), if you also post pictures (and even code!) I'm sure we can all figure out a better way to do it than massive sheets of ilogic.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If my solution seems to remedy your problem, please press the Accept Solution button, -
as it increases my power levels and will eventually help to elevate me towards outer space.

Check out my iLogic injection tool here : http://goo.gl/ce1Qg
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!