Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 21 of 34 (576 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

10-24-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: d_m_fleming

Oops, my falut. I'm not good at multi-tasking! :smileyembarrassed: Find it attached to this post.

By data set I mean your assembly and it's accompanying parts.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
d_m_fleming
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 22 of 34 (570 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

10-24-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: mrattray

I'm working for a tank manufacturing company.

The data set is not something I can just post and I suspect is too large anyway.

This is a large assembly with many parts.

I created LOD's which I now know will not produce the BOM's I require.

I created view reps from the LOD's and am trying to get ilogic to give me a BOM that reflects only the parts in the View rep.

The code you sent is giving the same error but in lines 13 and 16 now.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 23 of 34 (545 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

10-25-2012 05:06 AM in reply to: d_m_fleming

Tanks as in military tanks? If that's the case, I imagine mentioning as much as you have could get you in trouble! :smileytongue:

 

I have two theories as to why your having problems. Try this version, and if it doesn't work then we'll test theory two.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Active Member
mohan.nakka
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 24 of 34 (491 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-11-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: mrattray

hi,

 anyone tried the code ?still have the same error messages in line 16 and 19

Active Member
mohan.nakka
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 25 of 34 (491 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-11-2012 02:52 PM in reply to: mrattray

hi code doesnt work,please help

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 26 of 34 (480 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-11-2012 03:12 PM in reply to: mohan.nakka

Hi mohan.nakka,

 

There seems to be some mystery characters as shown.

If you retype the word BOMStructure in both places shown it should take care of it.

 

Autodesk Inventor iLogic Code error.png

 

 

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Member
mohan.nakka
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 27 of 34 (470 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-11-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thanks Curtis,

      That cleares the error message.I added this rule to an assembly file which has a view rep i created.i added this rule to fire with an event trigger "after save document".but none of the invisible components BOM structure is change to reference.Am i doing it right?Please help.

 

Thanks a lot

Regards,

Mohan

Active Member
mohan.nakka
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 28 of 34 (469 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-11-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: mohan.nakka

hi curtis,

          i created a sample assembly with few parts and tried the code,it works great.where should i use this code if i have sub assemblies in a top level assembly?

Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 29 of 34 (450 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

12-12-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: mrattray

I treid this rule and unfortunately does not work for me, I suspect the reason is complicated BOM set up I use.

Other guys did not complain.

Active Contributor
LewisLusby
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 30 of 34 (365 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

04-23-2013 08:17 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

Why does this only work in Master LoD???

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.