Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iLogic & the API

31 REPLIES 31
SOLVED
Message 1 of 32
Breeze104
1235 Views, 31 Replies

iLogic & the API

First lets make this clear... "I am not a programer", so if responces could be made simple (very simple) I would appreciate it.

That said...I have been looking over the API chart to figure out how to code something in an iPart. It looks like I should be able to (if I understand correctly) code it so it reads the "iPart factory" the "table row" then the "table cell".  But what I don't understand is how the syntax is used and/or what syntax to use.

I am trying to use a bit of iLogic to auto fill in the “Title” for the iPart model, that way I type the info once and not 2 times per size change. 

What I am trying to do is to pull the part number from the iPart table that I have already created and have the code read the cells in the table that contains the part numbers and if it is = to a certain number, then the out should change the Title according to what part number is in the cell that gets read.

I hope this makes sence… if not I could make a short video that may make more sence.

31 REPLIES 31
Message 2 of 32
swordmaster
in reply to: Breeze104

you cannot use ilogic within a ipart.

If i was trying to do this I would edit my ipart table using excel and "build" the description using the inbuilt excel commands

CONCANTENATE will do most of what you want i believe

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Message 3 of 32
Breeze104
in reply to: swordmaster

OK...???

Now I am really lost.  So your saying I can use iLogic in an .ipt but not if it is an iPart??

What is "CONCANTENATE"

Message 4 of 32
jletcher

Sword you can use ilogic with iparts you are just limited to what you can do.

Message 5 of 32
jletcher

Breeze