Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Illustrator to Inventor

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1871 Views, 6 Replies

Illustrator to Inventor

Hello, I'm new to Inventor. I'm currently having trouble transferring a design from Illustrator into Inventor. My process goes like this: In illustrator I export it as a .dwg. Then in Inventor I create a 2D sketch and click the ACAD button to import it. It works, but not in the way that I want. Only the outline shows up. I want a solid face that I can extrude and work with. But I have no idea how to go about this. Any help is appreciated.
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
gsmith9810
in reply to: Anonymous

Not having used Illustrator, I would say that it >>MIGHT<< just be easier to re-create your sketch from scratch within Inventor and be done with it rather than try to save time by using an import that isn't really going to get you there.

I have recently taken a PDF, placed it on a sketch and traced the line work that was of importance to me, then placed the dimensions that were critical.

Not pretty, but it does work.

Illustrator is what the name implies, an illustration tool. That said, it will not generate line work to the tolerances needed by a tool like Inventor. Often, even importing ACAD work you will see that lines that APPEAR to be connected, aren't really.

Frustrating, I know!

- Gary

-------------------------------------------------------
Gary Smith
Inventor Product Design Suite 2013sp2
Windows 7sp1 64-bit
nVidia Quadro 2000
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous