Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IFC files

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
b.blackwood
8934 Views, 19 Replies

IFC files

Hi,

I am creating manufactured assemblies which go into buildings (toilet pods etc).  I have been doing this in Inventor for about 4 years.  Yesterday I found out that after years of pushing from me, my main client is adopting mandatory BIM.

The only problem is, that they (and my other main clients) have mandated IFC as the interchange format.  And it doesnt seem that I can import or export IFC files with Inventor.

Has Autodesk got any plans to incorporate this?  Or is there a translator available? 

I have tried going via Revit, but it doesnt really work (and also I have gone too far with Inventor to change now).  This is essential to including all Inventor users in the federated BIM process.

Thanks

B.

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
Anonymous
in reply to: b.blackwood

I'm having the same problems.

My client is stating that IFC is the format used by all 3D BOM programs to communicate. Very strange when Inventor doesn't have a export possibility for that.

Message 3 of 20
mflayler2

Wow that is a little nearsighted of them to only require IFC all the way down the chain.  That, at this point forces a organization to own a seat of Revit just for taking Inventor ADSK files into and then export to IFC so the OMNI class information and properties are correct.

I suppose you could obtain a seat to Building Design Ultimate that includes Inventor?  That may be cheaper than outright getting Revit from scratch.  I'm not sure if a cross grade exists for that though.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Mark Flayler - Engagement Engineer