Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IDF & STEP files not playing nice together :(

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
tes666t
396 Views, 4 Replies

IDF & STEP files not playing nice together :(

Hello everyone.

I am very new to Inventor - so maybe I am missing something obvious. I have generated an IDF file in Eagle (for a PCB), and I have a component's STEP file from the manufacturer. I open both files in Inventor (2015) and 'Replace Component' the generic (?) ones that come from the IDF file. The component is indeed replaced but its placement and orientation (mirroring) is off. 

Is that something I need to fix manually? What are the standard practices for this?

I have attached the files I am playing with:

RK09D1130-25.STEP is the original component file from the manufacturer's site

RK09D1130-25.ipt is the converted-to-Inventor-component file

pcb.emn.zip contains the IDF file.

Many thanks!!

Simon

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
sam_m
in reply to: tes666t

To be honest, I doubt that approach will ever work.