Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
darnold
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
Message 21 of 30 (280 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-29-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: cwhetten

I have long suspected it of a video card or driver problem. We purchased this very expensive card at the suggestion of our Autodesk dealer and there is no one else here that uses inventor (other designers use NX) so I was just dealt with it.

As i indicated at the begining of this thread, I didn't know if it was just me, or everyone.  BTW, I started with 1013 and it did it with that too.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,276
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 22 of 30 (264 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-29-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: darnold

Stupid question time: is everybody running multiple monitors as (1) - (2) [primary on the left, secondary on the right], or are some people running them as (2) - (1) [primary on the right, secondary on the left]?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 23 of 30 (260 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-29-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: dgorsman

I too have had all of my browsers and docked windows like the ilogic browser move around on me. Almost every time I start my pc in the moring it is in a differnt spot as well as sometimes undocking while changing sheets in an idw. It's been discussed in a few threads and has been no resolution. I dn't remember seeing this before 2013 which is when it started happening here. I have learned to just deal with it and keep working. If somene ever does find a fix for this I will be first in line to buy them a soda.

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 24 of 30 (253 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-29-2013 02:15 PM in reply to: dgorsman

I am running (2) - (1), primary on the right, secondary on left.  I run Inventor with the main window on my primary monitor, with my browser and parameters editor on the secondary.  See the attached image.  iLogic browser is undocked but on my primary monitor, and it never moves either.

 

Cameron Whetten
Inventor 2012

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IV2012 Pro SP2 Update 3, Build 219; Vanilla Vault 2012, Update 2
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon Duo @2.40 GHz, 9 GB RAM,
NVIDIA Quadro 2000, 1024 MB GDDR5

 

Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 894
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 25 of 30 (219 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-30-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: cwhetten

I've run (1) - (2) with IV maxed on (2), both browser floating on (1) but positioned near IV, for years. Never seen either move unless I did it.

Valued Contributor
darnold
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
Message 26 of 30 (201 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-30-2013 07:23 AM in reply to: rdyson

rdyson,

 

What version of IV are you using?

Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 894
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 27 of 30 (193 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-30-2013 07:56 AM in reply to: darnold
I have 2012 thru 2014 loaded withe the same configuration
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 28 of 30 (171 Views)

Re: I wished...

05-30-2013 12:13 PM in reply to: dgorsman

dgorsman wrote:

Stupid question time: is everybody running multiple monitors as (1) - (2) [primary on the left, secondary on the right], or are some people running them as (2) - (1) [primary on the right, secondary on the left]?



Primary on right, secondary on left.  I keep the browser bar docked, though.  I spend a lot of time with separate sessions of Inventor on each monitor, and it would get really annoying, really quickly, to have random browser bars and such cross-populating between monitors.

 

 

JDMather wrote:

 

2. I (almost) never have sketch constraints displayed because I know which ones Inventor is applying automatically and I certainly know when I have manually applied a constraint.  About the only time I turn them on is to check files from other people.  So I guess this one doesn't effect me.

 


While I would hate to have my constraint glyphs constantly visible on the screen, I'm not quite where you're at either, because I don't know which ones Inventor is applying automatically.  I've got it set to horizontal / vertical, and I'm constantly getting random parallels and perpendiculars shoved in there where I don't want them.  Doesn't matter if I hold down CTRL while I click, either.  I've tried left and right CTRL key across 4 different keyboards, as well as the button on two different Spacepilots, and it's the same thing with all of them.

___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
wh
Posts: 459
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 29 of 30 (136 Views)

Re: I wished...

06-04-2013 02:12 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

I've been stumbling for some time about David's No.1 topic too:

 

Sam_M was pointing me to the solution for ATI Fire user's:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/2013-Dual-screen-Jumping-browser-from-right-screen-t...

 

Walter

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 598
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 30 of 30 (129 Views)

Re: I wished...

06-04-2013 02:54 AM in reply to: wh

Good to hear it worked :smileyvery-happy:

 

for others (to save clicking on links) - goto the ATI driver (Catalyst?) options and turn off any dialog box repositioning and turn on any remember application position/size options.

 

While typing my reply to wh I wondered if the ATI drivers were seeing the browser bar as a dialog box and thus repositioning it to the main display, thinking it was being helpful...  Seems like it's fixed his problem (for now).

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.