Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 1 of 47 (2,421 Views)

I remember when Inventor Worked

2421 Views, 46 Replies
02-20-2013 06:24 AM

Ok I remember the days when Inventor worked now not so much. One complaint getting from clients is the BOM

and Part list.

 

When I teach Inventor in the assembly I tell my clients to reorder the BOM in the assembly and when they go to do the drawing part list it will be in the correct order they wanted it to be.

 

Well this is no longer true and is very frustrating. They can spend 5 to 10 minutes reordering the BOM in the assembly just to find out they have to redo it in the drawing Part list.

 

I have notice my Don't add anything till you fix it is not the best idea any longer.

 

What I don't understand is we have a the opportunity to tell Autodesk we are not happy with thing not working when they did before. But yet votes for this lack.

 

Here is JPG's for you..

 

Correct.JPG

 

But now not correct

not correct.JPG

 

Now this is a small assembly but the next one he has to do has about 40 sub assemblies and 150 parts.

 

Please go vote for the bugs to be fixed before we add anything else...

 

Thanks for your support..

 

 

 

 

 

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Active Contributor
Rory_M
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 2 of 47 (2,403 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-20-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: jletcher

I think it's always been this way. I'm pretty sure of it.

 

I always sort and renumber in the BOM, then edit the now mangled parts list and click the Sort button, select Sort by Item and it's done.

 

It's a few extra clicks, but I'd be very happy if it became an automatic feature. Maybe a tick box in the Edit Parts List dialog that said "Keep sorted in item order"

 

 

Rory

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 3 of 47 (2,385 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-20-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: Rory_M

Rory

 

 No from the day I was shown this back in Inventor 4 it has always worked for me never ever an issue. I have done thousands and always works till this release 2012 I will not update to 2013... I will have to see about 2014 if I don't find an alternative software to start using.

 

Now about 75% of the time it works.

 

Like he did that one I posted so I went and did the next assembly and it did not work.

 

So the next assembly I did it and it worked.

 

The next assembly worked but the next after that did not.

 

No that is why that option is in Inventor so you can reorder it in the assembly than give it to a drafter and it was in the order the engineer wanted it to be in.

 

So this is a bug.

 

Never ever had this issue in any of the other releases.

 

I have one client I told him not to use Inventor he will have better luck with his Autocad 2008. But I will keep him informed if Autodesk gets back on track.


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 4 of 47 (2,352 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-20-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: jletcher

In the drawing, simply edit the parts list and SORT without selecting any criteria.  This will put items in the order defined by the BOM.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 47 (2,346 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-20-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: mpatchus

Yes, I know of this but it is another step that should not have to happen.

 

 CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK 

 

My darn finger is killing me from all the CLICKS...

 

I did a test 2011 classic and 2011 new interface Did the exact same on both.

 

Classic= 87 clicks

 

New interface= 124 clicks

 

Classic= 20 minutes

New Interface= 36 minutes

 

16 minutes added not good....


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,383
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 6 of 47 (2,266 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-21-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: jletcher

replied to this yesterday then deleted it.

 

I said something to the effect of confirming what James seen previously, it used to work that way.

 

The reason I deleted the 1st post was because of the first part of this next comment was similar to,

 

My vote is for Autodesk to create yet another forum where people can go complain about what ever they want to in order to be able to use this forum for what it's intended for, assisting with problems and such.  Maybe not a "complaint" forum per say, maybe more something along the lines of "bug reporting" forum.

 

Just a suggestion, please don't take it wrong James.

Product Support
4donwan4
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 7 of 47 (2,209 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-22-2013 07:08 AM in reply to: jletcher

I understand your frustration with possible limitations or what would have seemed to worked in the past. I would tend to agree with the extra click in IDW, but since that is not what you want then I suggest going here and adding your two cents. If you would like to enter a wish list item asking for this to be considered as an enhancement please use the following link.
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

This can also be used to report regressions within the products.

Don

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 8 of 47 (2,138 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-25-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: ampster

Ampster,

 

 No I will not take it wrong no worries,

 But the only bad thing about it is no one will go look at that forum, I want everyone to know and start to unit and get this crap fixed.

 

Now if you link a new forum that is link to the investors emails than you may have something. But as Autodesk does not care about the end user they will produce more bugs and junk most don't need in a manufacturing software,

 

Some clients I have ask me to come in and see if 3D would be the best thing for their company. Now when Inventor was a software for manufacturing I would tell them yes it would. But now I tell them autocad seems to be working great for you I would stay in the 2d world. When asked why I let them know when Inventor 1st came out it was the best thing I have used and as they added more features for manufacturing it was getting better. Than they decided to screw it all up with Vault, rendering crap, Mold design, and now is no longer a manufacturing software but a rendering software like viz and max.

 

Autodesk need to realize we need to design parts and make drawings and not render. I have talked to about 2000 users and not one used the molding or the rendering. Their comment was we need to make parts not pictures.

 

I have yet to see a firm that have enough time for their engineers to render a picture most the time when you finish the part and the drawing you are on the next job not making renderings.

 

Than when they went to this crappy new interface and added time to designing I have a whole new list of clients that want to change from Inventor to something the need and works, four clients have now went completely back to autocrat after the release of 2012. Drop their subscription.

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,416
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 9 of 47 (2,121 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-25-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: jletcher

James,

 

If you can believe it or not, the Idea Station forums that were recently started on this site ARE looked at quite regularly by Autodesk people.  These are set up for very specific recommendations for fixes, enhancements etc. to various software packages.  As you well know, there is a lot of stuff that needs to be addressed.  Autodesk knows this too, and wether it looks that way or not, they do listen to the users.  But the task at hand is often more overwhelming than we users realize.  Are they perfect at hearing and responding?  Of course not, and they know that too.

 

My suggestion is to take a look at the idea stations and start posting very specific issues, with very specific proposed solutions.  Then come back in here, and post a link to what you posted in the idea station and ask for users to "kudo" and leave feedback on your ideas.  You will see that some ideas have been implemented, others are being reviewed for implementation... some are set as needing more feedback... etc.  I have place many ideas in there and gotten direct contact from the product developers to ask for more information.  Be specific and be positive... that will draw more atention.  The more kudos your ideas get, the more attention the draw.  A positive and even humorous (hard when you're angry) feel to your posts will cause more people to want to give it kudos.

 

Just my humble opinions...

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 10 of 47 (2,110 Views)

Re: I remember when Inventor Worked

02-25-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: cbenner

cbenner

 

 I do have one there called Don't add anything.

 

 There is only one suggestion stop and fix it. Stop chasing other software Inventor is Inventor not solid works not viz not max not Microsoft Office.

 

But as they developed Inventor they have moved away from manufacturing software.

 

As far as listening to users sorry but not so they may make you feel like they do but not a chance. They know how to get a hold of me I use to work for them so this is how I also know they don't care about the end user but only the stock holders.

 

Plus I tried the polite approach for years when I seen them moving away from the end user and to the stock holder. This is where I draw my line in the sand with being polite and go into my rant.

 

Point in hand the one thing that Autodesk drove into my head when showing Inventor was that there will be one package Inventor the main selling idea one software for the manufacturer. But now you have what 8-9 Inventors?

 

 Maybe if they went back to one type of Inventor and develop the one there would not be so many bugs. Plus stop coming out with two releases a year slow down take your time make it right. I don't care if they took 2 years to come out with new release just make it work. I understand that you will have a bug or 2 but when you come out with a patch that is the same size as the software itself you have issues.

 

When they started coming out with this new interface there was so much dislike for it so what did they do they toke out the classic. So tell me where did they listen to the end user here?

 

 I don't want to get going on the crap they did to 2013 so far I have 6 clients after showing them 2013 they  have decided to stay with 2011.

 

Inventor was the only thing I would praise about loved it all the way up to 2011 only one thing I hate is multi user cannot be used without vault.

 

Now vault is a good example AutoDesk does not care about the end user but the stock holder. Multi user worked before they came out with this Vault junk but then they seen how no one was using it so they decided to force you to use it by making it so multi user no longer works unless you use Vault.

 

Then to make you buy full version off the crap Vault they make it so the vault that came with Inventor only works up to 5 users. Another stock driven feature.

 

But then you find out the server that you had is no good for vault so now they have to go by a new server.

 

So I do have one in the idea section but as for Autodesk is for the end user no sorry not one bit.

 

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.