Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need some advice please

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
nautilus33
272 Views, 11 Replies

I need some advice please

I  want to make a design for a simple appliance. I am still learning autodesk inventor.  I want to make a metal table, I still didn't finish the design. but I need to have an idea of the weight of my design. which material to use considering weight and will it be strong enough to stand etc. 

Shortly, How can I decide the thickness vs length of the table legs with autodesk  inventor? It should be strong but it shouldn't be heavy.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
mcgyvr
in reply to: nautilus33

We call this "engineering". Back in the day you did math to figure it out.. Now FEA programs are commonly used.

What version of Inventor do you have? (specifically do you have FEA or not)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 12
JimSteinmeyer

You need to first set some design criteria. Is the table going to have heavy objects set on it? arfe these objects going to have a large base or small feet that could poke through thin sheet metal? Is money an object? do you want to use thicker aluminum and spend more money, or thinner steel for less money? maybe lighter yet and use titanium. What is the use of the table? small lamp table or a 16 foot work bench that will hold car engines?

What ever you need to set some parameters first.