Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
timurt
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 1 of 4 (324 Views)

I get Length in cm but Units are inch

324 Views, 3 Replies
06-01-2011 10:59 PM

Hi guys,

 

I'm novice in Inventor API.

I have a stuped question:

 

I see that I get hole diameter in cantimeters:

m_Feature->HoleDiameter->Value

 

But units are inches:

m_Feature->HoleDiameter->GetUnits();

 

Units of the document are also inches, and Inventor GUI also displays inches.

 

So my question - why I get the length in cm? It seems like a bug.

 

Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 2 of 4 (307 Views)

Re: I get Length in cm but Units are inch

06-02-2011 06:19 AM in reply to: timurt

Hi -

 

This is as designed. The API will always use what it calls "database units" to return (and receive) such values. There are "UnitsOfMeasure" objects available to convert between units and expressions.

 

For length, cm is always used.

 

Hope this helps,

  Jeff

Distinguished Contributor
msklein
Posts: 1,451
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 3 of 4 (304 Views)

Re: I get Length in cm but Units are inch

06-02-2011 07:01 AM in reply to: timurt

If this was downloaded then this part was probably made in metric. If someone else at work made the part that did a override and inputted the dim as metric. When creating a feature you can over ride and manually inert any unit of length in the radio button for the dim callout you would like. This allows you to if you are mating two parts one in inches and one in metric to get them to mate without have to convert dim. So you can have a part model with mixed dim's. You're part drawing should come out as all inches if that is what the format is set to. IV is unitless unlike Autocad. 

msk

Member
timurt
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 4 of 4 (257 Views)

Re: I get Length in cm but Units are inch

06-20-2011 10:11 PM in reply to: jeff.pek

Ok, I see.

 

Thanks,

Timur.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.