Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Mirror, Join & Loft correctly

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1385 Views, 6 Replies

How to Mirror, Join & Loft correctly

Hello, i'm a beginner in Inventor, need your advice.

I simply draw the spline curve, which will be mirrored (pict.1),

1.jpg

Then I need to create more curves in same way on other workplanes, and loft.

But when I loft, I have no normal result (pict.2). Loft selects only half of the side, how to join two curves?

2.jpg

3.jpg

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

It is generally poor practice to mirror spline curves (did you examine the curvature comb?).

A better technique is to mirror points and the create your spline across the plane of symmetry.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/Inventor%20Tutorials/Inventor%2011%20Tutorial%206.pdf

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

No, I didn't.
OK, I'll continue to experiment.
Message 4 of 7
JDMather

If you attach the ipt file from your original post - I can show you how I would have inspected the geometry.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 5 of 7
Anonymous

File

Message 6 of 7
JDMather

You are missing constraints and dimensions - your sketches should show as fully constrained in lower right corner of screen while in sketching environment.

In particular - for some reason your sketch is not constrained to the origin - this should be automatic.

Turning on Curvature Display

Display Curvature.png