Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 1 of 15 (275 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

275 Views, 14 Replies
06-20-2011 05:11 PM

New Bitmap Image.jpg

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,619
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 15 (275 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-20-2011 05:15 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Was the angle iron made with Extrude mid-plane (as logical)?
Then simply constraint Mate-Flush the appropriate origin workplanes.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 3 of 15 (272 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-20-2011 05:28 PM in reply to: JDMather

I didn't extrude those angles from a center plane. Those angles are standard parts in the database. When you insert them, the inventor asks you how long you want them. Later, they can be extruded to a different length, but I didn't do that.

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 4 of 15 (259 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-20-2011 08:31 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Add a workpoint to th emidpoint of an edge. Then constrain to the workplane you have visible in your post. (Mate Point/Plane)

 

4-9-2011-NG000115.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 5 of 15 (254 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-20-2011 08:49 PM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey
I am not given an option to constrain a point to a plane in the assembly. I am creating a center point but I cannot create dimensions in this environment to see the if the center point is really in the center. Visually it is not
*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 6 of 15 (250 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-20-2011 09:15 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Sure you can.....  The workpoint will snap to the midpoint, whether in part or assembly mode.

 

http://teknigroup.com/Videos/2012Q2/createwkptinassyconstraint/createwkptinassyconstraint.html

 


mailswamp wrote:
I am not given an option to constrain a point to a plane in the assembly. I am creating a center point but I cannot create dimensions in this environment to see the if the center point is really in the center. Visually it is not



Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 7 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-21-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

The workpoint did snap to the midpoint, but how do I constrain a point to the plane?

That option is not evident in the constraint window. Somehow I got the point to center on the plane but the angle bar stayed in the same place. Also I cannot change the size of the plane.

 

The point that appeared to snap to the centor visually, can be visible on my drawing and it moved off center somehow. 

Distinguished Contributor
moto748
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎04-27-2004
Message 8 of 15 (220 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-21-2011 06:50 AM in reply to: mailswamp

When I create a rolled steel section from the Content Centre, I delete the Start Plane, End Plane, and Driven Length features (whilst unticking the "delete dependent sketches and features" tickbox).I then edit the Body Feature, changing the Extents field to Distance, and filling in an appropriate length. Depending on the application I usually set the mid-plane option too.

Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 9 of 15 (214 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-21-2011 07:20 AM in reply to: moto748

Maybe that can be done for the future angle bar parts but it appears that the developer team needs to look into this problem.

Distinguished Contributor
zma1013
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 10 of 15 (204 Views)

Re: How to make those angebars center themselves on the square tube?

06-21-2011 08:31 AM in reply to: mailswamp

If you insert it as a custom part, you could just add the workplane within the part file itself.  All you have to do is choose workplane option and select the 2 side faces and it automatically places the workplane directly in the center of those faces, which is the center of the part.

 

Not sure why Autodesk chose to build them the way they did, they really should have made a workplane in the center already or generated it's length in both directions from the center.

 

I'd like to know an easy way to copy the family of angles in the CC and add my workplane to them instead of creating a custom part.  Would be great to just pull it from the CC with the workplane already in position.

IV2012

Windows XP SP3 32-bit
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 @ 2.13 GHz
Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI 256MB Vram
2 GB Ram
160GB HDD
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.