Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
xboxphili
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 1 of 6 (728 Views)

How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviornment

728 Views, 5 Replies
10-04-2012 07:20 AM

I've generated my steel frame model using a skeletal model technique. So my part file consists of only sketch lines representing where I want my steel to be placed. I've created an assembly and used that in my inventor.dwg file. The problem is that I need to dimension to the sketch file and not to the model shapes because the sketch lines define the center of gravity. These lines aren't visible even though I've right-clicked on the content and selected "Get Model Sketches". Does anyone know how I can get my sketletal model through to the DWG enviornment?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 6 (725 Views)

Re: How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviorn

10-04-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: xboxphili

xboxphili wrote:

 These lines aren't visible even though I've right-clicked on the content and selected "Get Model Sketches".


Did you set to Include?

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/retrieve-a-bend-from-sweep/td-p/3646098

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
xboxphili
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 3 of 6 (717 Views)

Re: How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviorn

10-04-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: JDMather

Does having sketches turned on in the original part file affect visibility later on, say for instance in my .dwg file?  I just turned them on, saved and retrieved the lines by selecting "Get Model Sketches". So I have what I need but I just wanted to verify. Thank you for your quick response.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 6 (714 Views)

Re: How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviorn

10-04-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: xboxphili

I don't think you have to have them visible in the part files, but try some experiments.
Also, I didn't check what release you are using. 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
xboxphili
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 5 of 6 (705 Views)

Re: How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviorn

10-04-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: JDMather

I'm running the 2013 demo and I'm producing content for a softare evaluation. Do you think Solidworks would provide any advantages for steel structures? I've completed a similar software demo/evaluation for Revit Structures as well because I have experience with both platforms but I previsously only used Inventor only for structural ductwork. Personally I am most comfortable in an Autodesk envoirnment. Not that Revit feel like an Autodesk product...

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (693 Views)

Re: How to make my skeletal model for my steel frames visible in the DWG enviorn

10-04-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: xboxphili

SolidWorks does this as multi-body solids that you push out.

 

In the end I see no significant differences. 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.