Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
brwright
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-16-2006
Message 1 of 7 (1,048 Views)

How to make a wire

1048 Views, 6 Replies
05-17-2006 08:35 AM
How can i make a wire to connect other parts. Possibly bendable in assembly???
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,616
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 09:02 AM in reply to: brwright
It depends.
What version of Inventor are you using?
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
brwright
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-16-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 09:06 AM in reply to: brwright
Inventor 10 Pro
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,854
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 09:24 AM in reply to: brwright
make sure you have electrical pins placed on your connectors
(done in the part environment, switch the harness mode and add the pin)
Then create a wire harness in the assembly environment.

You need to read the book "routed systems" that comes with the program. try the tuturials,etc...
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Patrick Berry
Message 5 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 09:53 AM in reply to: brwright
The basic premise used in routing tubes and wiring in IV-Pro is essentially
the same as what you would use in regular IV. It's essentially just
creating a path with a 3d spline and using that for a sweep. You can make
the wire somewhat bendable in an assembly by choosing fit points in the
spline that are constrained to moving pieces of geometry. This makes the
spline adaptive.

It's been a while, but IIRC, the tubing module gives you the option to fix
the spline length which makes the adaptive motion a bit more realistic. A
normal 3d spline will stretch when deformed.

Patrick
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,854
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 10:25 AM in reply to: brwright
patrick, he has INV10 PRO, the wire harness module does not require you to do a 3d sweep, only define the end points of the wire by clicking on electrical pins placed in the connectors part environment. Then by adding points to the actual wire you can define its location/bends,etc...

He needs to read the routing system's book for the cable and harness section and use that functionality.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Patrick Berry
Message 7 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: How to make a wire

05-17-2006 03:31 PM in reply to: brwright
Yeah, I know. I was just trying to clarify how Pro works, that the wire
path is essentially the same as a 3d spline. An adaptive wire can be done
using regular IV series, Pro just automates the process.

Patrick

wrote in message news:5177781@discussion.autodesk.com...
patrick, he has INV10 PRO, the wire harness module does not require you to
do a 3d sweep, only define the end points of the wire by clicking on
electrical pins placed in the connectors part environment. Then by adding
points to the actual wire you can define its location/bends,etc...

He needs to read the routing system's book for the cable and harness section
and use that functionality.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.