Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to join structural members? Help please.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Roxana
239 Views, 5 Replies

How to join structural members? Help please.

Hello:

I am new with inventor and would appreciate if you could help me go the right direction with a structure I am trying to build with extrusions of Cylindrical and Square cross section.

I am having a hard time making sure that when I join the members they do not just intersect one another...

I will need to do a stress analysis on this structure later, so I want to make sure my geometry will allow for that. But simply, how do I join, let's say, a square section member perpendicularly onto a cylindrical section member? I mean, without either intersecting a member into the other or leaving a gap of space between their surfaces? The joint surfaces will later be spot welded and would of course need to mate. So for instance, the end of a square extrusion would have to end up with a radious instead of remaining flat ended in order for it to mate onto the curved radial surface length of the cylindrical extrusion.

I am hoping I am making myself clear. Sorry for the rambling about this...

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much.
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
jong
in reply to: Roxana

Done a lot of this.
There are 2 approaches.
1) build the frame as a lot of individual parts (which is what I suspect you are doing) you then need to model the ends of the members ie bevels on square tubes or a round cut where it meets a round tube.
A good whiz is to model the parts in the assembly and use faces or planes to extrude the parts too.