Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to I Move Extrusions/Square Holes?

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
Anonymous
5885 Views, 14 Replies

How to I Move Extrusions/Square Holes?

Hello,

I am new at using Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 and I am currently trying to move some square holes that I made (using extrusions). How can  I move these around inside the main extrusion (called Extrusion 1 in the attached design) without changing any of the dimensions etc?

Is there a simple way of selecting them all and moving them, or do I have to do it one at a time?

Any help appriciated.

Fouad. 

Tags (1)
14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

I would have used 1 sketch for that.

And use Equal (=) constraints so that you don't have to change so many dimensions (just 1 for each size).

Attached is an example.

It could be simplified more if all 2.5 would be edited together then only need one dimension (rather the 5, 7.5...)

Don't get carried away with too much in one sketch - start creating additional sketches but Project Geomtry to keep them all tied together or better yet, use the origin as the position reference for your dimensions.

I created the squares with Offset to make easy to dimension.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 15
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for your prompt reply,