Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 1 of 3 (415 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to fillet this part?

415 Views, 2 Replies
01-18-2013 05:58 AM

GDay All,

 

I have a part that I want to fillet but only the edges that are highlighted. Please see the attached photo.

 

I have tried using sweep but it insists on returning similar results to the fillet command in that it wants to fillet the entire edge which is not what I want.

 

Anyone have a simple solution?

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors

Andy, with sweep it's posible but make sure that you select the sweep and not the edge.

An other option is to use the fillet command and use 'Variable radius', place points were you want to start the fillet and change the Radius to zero. See attachment for an example.

Rob.

Distinguished Contributor
VdVeek
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 2 of 3 (401 Views)

Re: How to fillet this part?

01-18-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: trumpy81

Andy, with sweep it's posible but make sure that you select the sweep and not the edge.

An other option is to use the fillet command and use 'Variable radius', place points were you want to start the fillet and change the Radius to zero. See attachment for an example.

Rob.

Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional & Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Professional.
Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 3 of 3 (373 Views)

Re: How to fillet this part?

01-18-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: VdVeek

Thanks Rob. I now see where I was going wrong when using sweep.

 

I have to chalk it up to another 'grey' moment ... lol

 

 

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.