Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
bravaiser
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 1 of 3 (174 Views)

How to create a Workplane from a face using SelectSet[]

174 Views, 2 Replies
11-08-2012 02:13 PM

I am making a C# Add-in, I need to create a plane from a selected face, I am using the follwing code, but I am getting stuck. Can you Help me?

 

if (((mApp.ActiveDocument != null)))
{

 

if ((mApp.ActiveDocument.DocumentType == DocumentTypeEnum.kPartDocumentObject))
{

 

PartComponentDefinition oPartCom = mApp.ActiveDocument as PartComponentDefinition;
PartDocument oDoc = mApp.ActiveDocument as PartDocument;

 

if ((oDoc.SelectSet[1]) is Face)
{


System.Windows.Forms.MessageBox.Show("You just selected a surface", "Surface Evaluator");

 

WorkPlane oPlane = oDoc.SelectSet[1] as WorkPlane; //HERE I SELECT THE WORKPLANE FROM THE FACE

//HERE I USE IT TO CREATE MY REAL WORKPLANE TO USE THE SKETCH BUT THERE IS A PROBLEM

WorkPlane oWorkPlane = oDoc.ComponentDefinition.WorkPlanes.AddByPlaneAndOffset(oPlane, 1.0);

 

 

//THIS PART SHOULD WORK AFTERWARDS

PlanarSketch oSketch = oDoc.ComponentDefinition.Sketches.Add(oWorkPlane, false);

TransientGeometry oTG = mApp.TransientGeometry;

ObjectCollection oFitPoints = mApp.TransientObjects.CreateObjectCollection();

PartComponentDefinition oCompDef = default(PartComponentDefinition);
oCompDef = oDoc.ComponentDefinition;
Camera oCamera = mApp.ActiveView.Camera;

 

....

 

}

}

 

THANK YOU GUYS!!!

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 2 of 3 (138 Views)

Re: How to create a Workplane from a face using SelectSet[]

11-12-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: bravaiser

You could get better reponse if you post this in the inventor customisation section.

 

You mention there is a problem... when you repost, also mention what the problem is that you are encountering.

best regards,
- Mark

(Kudo or Tag if Solved - it may help others)

PDSU 2015 Windows 8.1, 64bit.

Active Contributor
bravaiser
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 3 of 3 (134 Views)

Re: How to create a Workplane from a face using SelectSet[]

11-12-2012 05:30 AM in reply to: bravaiser

The problemis that the plane oPlane is pass as null to when I used the selection (in this case a face) oDoc.SelectSet[1] as WorkPlane.

 

Thanks in advance

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.