Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to add details to the extruded part of a circle?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Drew_Walker
293 Views, 4 Replies

how to add details to the extruded part of a circle?

Hi there everyone. In inventor, i am attempting to make a wheel (an ATV wheel to be exact). Im eventually going to make a model of an ATV that im going to 3d print, but I need some help first. I made my basic circle, extruded it, and now ive run into trouble. When i try to select the round part of the tire, it is not an option. I can only choose either one of the circles that have been made. I need to add treads to the tire to make it look like an actual tire and not just a circle. Is this possible? Im new to inventor, Im just a high school kid who downloaded the free 3 year license at home, so if you could try to speak in laymans terms that would be great. Thanks guys.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
salariua
in reply to: Drew_Walker

There is a model in the first post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/inventor-general-discussion/can-t-shell-my-tire/m-p/5417143#M528940

You need to cut the interior as revolved cut.

What version of Inventor you have?

Adrian S.
blog.ads-sol.com 

AIP2012-2020 i7 6700k AMD R9 370
Did you find this reply helpful ?
If so please use the Accepted Solutions or Like button - Thank you!
Message 3 of 5
JDMather

@Drew_Walker wrote:

Im eventually going to make a model of an ATV that im going to 3d print, ....

How big is the build envelope of your printer?

By the time you scale down your model enough to fit on the printer you may loose a lot of detail - or portions might be too thin to print.  Keep this in mind as you proceed with your design.

Attach your file(s) here any time you run into trouble.