Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
AnthonyPaul2010
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎07-19-2010
Message 11 of 15 (886 Views)

Re: How do you model flexible hoses?

08-11-2011 09:44 PM in reply to: blair

Hey Blair can you tell me where I could get a library of hydraulic tube and hose fitting from. Unfortunately I'm going to have to do it the long way but it would still save some time if I can have a content library of commercially available fittings etc.

Anthony Paul (from Cairns, North Queensland, Australia)

Product Design Suite
Inventor Premium 2012 - SP1 Installed
HP 8760w I7-740M Laptop
Windows 7 Professional 64
12 Gb DDR SDRAM
AMD FirePro M5950 Graphics Card
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,054
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 15 (865 Views)

Re: How do you model flexible hoses?

08-12-2011 08:18 AM in reply to: AnthonyPaul2010

Inventor should have the Parker-Hanifin library, you may need to install it from the install package.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
New Member
ahmadsharifi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
Message 13 of 15 (735 Views)

Re: How do you model flexible hoses?

10-05-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: AnthonyPaul2010

I would like to ask about this also. How easy/difficult is it to modify the "Parker Hydraulic Hose" flexible hose to give me a 3" diameter? It only has up to 2 inches right now. I love tube and pipe in inventor, but i don't know all the ins and outs yet.

 

Thanks In advance.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,054
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 14 of 15 (728 Views)

Re: How do you model flexible hoses?

10-05-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: AnthonyPaul2010

Here's a quick copy/paste from a previous post: It's for copying a Pipe Fiiting library to a Stainless, but the same steps are involved. (assuming you have your CC library installed locally)

 

If you don't already have a custom writeable CC library, then you need to create one.  You have to do this from the vault server ADMS console.  Once you are logged in to that, you can right-click on the libraries and create a new one.

 

If you already have a custom writeable CC library, then you are good to go.

 

Next, you have to make sure that this library (new or not) is available in your project file.  In Inventor, go to the projects editor, select your project file, then click on the Configure Content Center Libraries in the bottom right corner (just above the Done button).  This will pull up a list of available CC libraries.  Make sure the writeable custom library is checked.

 

Once your writeable library is available, then go to Manage tab > Content Center panel > Content Center Editor.  This will launch the editor window that looks similar to the place from CC window.  This is where what Blair said comes in.  Find the fitting that is closest to what you need.  In your case, that's probably the ASME 16.9 butt-welded fittings, since they are the only ANSI butt-welded option.  Right-click the part family and choose Copy To > [whatever you named your custom library].  This will copy the entire part family with its family table and folder structure into your library.  You can then edit it to your heart's content.

 

In this case, you will want to edit the family table and change the material, the wall thicknesses, change the schedule designation if you want it to show the "S", filename, part number, description, and anything else I forgot.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
Carthik_Babu
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 15 of 15 (546 Views)

Re: How do you model flexible hoses?

05-09-2013 03:31 AM in reply to: AnthonyPaul2010
http://grabcad.com/library/tutorial-how-to-make-flexible-hose-wire-by-autodesk-inventor
Carthik Babu M.S, Asst Manager - Machine Building,
Gabriel India Ltd,Hosur, TN, INDIA
Email:carthik.ms@gabriel.co.in ,
https://grabcad.com/carthik-1/projects
"May all beings be happy" http://www.dhamma.org/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.